Staff Excellence Award

Each year, the College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University recognizes outstanding staff members who clearly stand out with exceptional work, and many contributions made to departments, the college and the University.

Recipients 2015-16

  • Kaite Easley, College of Arts and Sciences Student Success Services
  • Benjamin Gaudio, Department of Physics
  • Yumi Takahashi-Ede, College of Arts and Sciences Undergraduate Advising


All clerical, technical, professional, and administrative staff currently serving in the College of Arts and Sciences who have completed at least one year of service to the college.

Award Selection

Each recipient will receive a plaque at a special celebration, along with a $1,000 award. The award will be based on outstanding service, including service to the University.

All awards are subject to final budgetary approval and authorization by the dean of the college.


Feb. 1

This award will be offered for the deadlines listed as long as funds are available.


Nomination form in Word

Nominations should include:

  • Name and unit of the staff member and the nominator
  • Number of years the nominee has been employed in the college
  • Statement (500-800 words) detailing how the candidate has demonstrated excellence in the performance of her or his duties

Nominations may also include statements of support from staff colleagues, supervisors, students, etc. in the form of memos, letters and emails.

Submit to:

College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5308 USA


Or drop off at 2304 Friedmann Hall


Or email to If you submit your application electronically, emails from the WMU Webmail Plus account of a faculty member and department chair or director may serve in place of signatures.


Email us.