2014 - 2015 Events

Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug

Events will be added as they are scheduled.

Parking in
Miller Auditorium
Monday - Thursday: Metered only until 8 p.m. ($0.25 per 10 min.)
Friday - Sunday: Free in any space starting at 4 p.m. Friday

September

Faculty Recital: 
Western Jazz Quartet CD Release Concert
Friday, Sept. 12, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bullock Performance Institute: Renata Artman Knific, Violin; Silvia Roederer, Piano
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Brass Quintet
Wednesday, Sept. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

WMUsic Showcase Spectacular
Sunday, Sept. 28, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

October

Bullock Performance Institute: TRI-FI, jazz trio
Wednesday, Oct. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Oct. 5, 3 p.m.

Chenery Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Scott Cowan and the Western Jazz Quartet
Wednesday, Oct. 8, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

University Jazz Orchestra
Thursday, Oct. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Student Composers I
Thursday, Oct. 16, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphonic Band
Sunday, Oct. 19, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

University Concert Band
Tuesday, Oct. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Trio Globo, world music
Wednesday, Oct. 22, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Choral Showcase:
 University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Sunday, Oct. 26, 3 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Jazz Lab Band
Tuesday, Oct. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free
(rescheduled from Oct. 14)

Bullock Performance Institute: Birds On A Wire and KLOrk
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Guest Artist Recital: Renmin University Folk Music Ensemble
Thursday, Oct. 31, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

November

University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Nov. 2, 3 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital:
 Kip Hickman, Trombone

Monday, Nov. 3, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Winds
Wednesday, Nov. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Gold Company Sneak Preview
Thursday, Nov. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bronco Marching Band

Sunday, Nov. 9, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: University Percussion Ensemble
Wednesday, Nov. 12, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Opera:
 Ever Since Eden by Bruce Tinkley

Friday, Nov. 14, 8 p.m. and Saturday, Nov. 15, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets, Nov. 14 performance
purchase tickets, Nov. 15 performance

Faculty/Guest Recital:
 Merling Trio with Andrew Koehler, Violin, and Jun-Ching Lin, Viola

Sunday, Nov. 16, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Wind Quintet
Wednesday, Nov. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Collegium Musicum

Thursday, Nov. 20, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Big Band Swing Tribute

University Jazz Orchestra & Jazz Lab Band
Saturday, Nov. 22, 8 p.m. (rescheduled from Nov. 21)
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

University Symphonic & Concert Bands
Sunday, Nov. 23, 3 p.m.

Miller Auditorium, Free

Student Composers II

Monday, Nov. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

December

University Symphony Orchestra: Moscow Ballet's Great Russian Nutcracker
Tuesday, Dec. 2, 7 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

Choral Christmas: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, Collegiate Singers
Saturday, Dec. 6, 4/7:30 p.m.
First Presbyterian Church, Kalamazoo, Charge
purchase tickets, 4 p.m. performance
purchase tickets, 7:30 p.m. performance

Christmas Concert: 
University Bands

Sunday, Dec. 7, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

 

January

Bullock Performance Institute: WMU Voice Area Showcase
Wednesday, Jan. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: Sonic Escape, flute, violin and cello
Wednesday, Jan. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

 

February

Bullock Performance Institute: Van-Anh Vanessa Vo, Vietnamese Music
Wednesday, Feb. 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Jazz Masters Series: Randy Brecker with University Jazz Orchestra and Jazz Lab Band
Thursday, Feb. 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Feb. 8, 3 p.m.

Miller Auditorium, Free

Western Winds

Tuesday, Feb. 10, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: WMU Jazz & Dance Collaboration – METRICS
Wednesday, Feb. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Guest Artist Recital:
 Stephen Framil, Cello, And Carla Trynchuk, Violin 
Friday, Feb. 13, 8 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Gold Company

Saturday, Feb. 14, 2/8 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets, 2 p.m. performance
purchase tickets, 8 p.m. performance

Choral Showcase
: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, Collegiate Singers
Saturday, Feb. 21, 8 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphonic Band
Sunday, Feb. 22, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Guest Artist Recital:
 Phoenix Park, Piano

Monday, Feb. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Concert Band
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Third Coast Percussion
Wednesday, Feb. 25, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Chamber Music Festival
Friday, Feb. 27, 5/8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

March

Chamber Music Festival Honors Recital

Sunday, Mar. 1, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: 
Peter Miyamoto, Piano

Monday, Mar. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Kontras Quartet, string quartet
Wednesday, March 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Western Invitational Jazz Festival Closing Concert featuring University Jazz Orchestra
Saturday, Mar. 14, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bullock Performance Institute: Ensemble Dal Niente
Wednesday, March 18, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

77th Annual
 Southwestern Michigan Vocal Festival
Thursday, Mar. 19, 7 p.m.

Miller Auditorium, Free

New Sounds Festival
: Kari Johnson, Composer

Monday, Mar. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Birds On A Wire and Guest Composer Robert Carl
Wednesday, March 25, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Gold Company Invitational Vocal Jazz Festival: Closing Concert featuring Gold Company

Saturday, Mar. 28, 8 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

University Symphony Orchestra Pops Concert

Sunday, Mar. 29, 3 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

WMU Trombone Choir
Tuesday, Mar. 31, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

April

Bullock Performance Institute: Mivos Quartet, string quartet
Wednesday, April 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Collegium Musicum
Thursday, Apr. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Shachar Israel, Trombone
Friday, Apr. 3, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

New Sounds Festival: Student Composers I

Friday, Apr. 3, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Lecture Hall, Free

New Sounds Festival: Student Composers I

Monday, Apr. 6, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Gold Company II

Tuesday, Apr. 7, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Jazz Lab Band
Thursday, Apr. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra with University Grand Chorus: Elijah
Friday, Apr. 10, 8 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

University Concert Band
Sunday, Apr. 12, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

47th Annual
 Spring Conference on Wind & Percussion Music University Symphonic Band

Thursday, Apr. 16, 7:30 p.m.

Miller Auditorium, Free

Choral Showcase: 
University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Sunday, Apr. 19, 3 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Music Therapy Clinic Concert
Monday, Apr. 20, 7 p.m.

Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

56th Annual
 Concerto Concert, University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Apr. 26, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free    

 

May

 

June

 

July

 

August