Events

The Department of World Languages and Literatures at Western Michigan University hosts many events throughout the academic year.

Tuesday, November 7

Orchestra Rouh at WMU–performance and open house, hosted by the Arabic section of the Department of World Languages and Literatures, in conjunction with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, the Suzuki Academy of Kalamazoo and the WMU Refugee Outreach Collective, 2452 Knauss Hall, 5 to 8 p.m. Event flier

Monday, November 13

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Potluck—Part of International Education Week 2017, "International TasteFest," hosted by the Lee Honors College and the Western Student Association, Lee Honors College Lounge, 5 to 7 p.m. Free.

Tuesday, November 14

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

International Trivia Night—Part of International Education Week 2017, hosted by WMU Study Abroad, 3508 Knauss Hall, 6 to 7:30 p.m. Free; refreshments and prizes provided.

Wednesday, November 15

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Japan Festival—Part of International Education Week 2017, hosted by the Japan Club, New Wesley Foundation, 4 to 7 p.m. Free; food provided.

Lecture—Part of International Education Week 2017, "What Kind of Language is Chinese?" Dr. Wenfang Sun, Confucius Institute at WMU, 2028 Brown Hall, 4 p.m. Free.

Thursday, November 16

CELCIS conversation circle (women only)—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free; women only.

Friday, November 17

China Night—Part of International Education Week 2017, hosted by the Chinese Association of Students and Scholars, Wesley Foundation, 6 to 8 p.m. Free.

Monday, November 20

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Tuesday, November 21

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Wednesday, November 22

Thanksgiving recess begins at noon

Thursday, November 23

Thanksgiving (no classes)

Friday, November 24

Thanksgiving recess (no classes)

Monday, November 27

Fall semester classes resume at 8 a.m.

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Tuesday, November 28

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Wednesday, November 29

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Thursday, November 30

CELCIS conversation circle (women only)—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free; women only.

Monday, December 4

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Tuesday, December 5

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Wednesday, December 6

CELCIS conversation circle—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free.

Thursday, December 7

CELCIS conversation circle (women only)—Help international students practice conversational English, Ellsworth Hall, fourth-floor CELCIS lobby, 2 to 3 p.m. Free; women only.

Monday, December 11–Friday, December 15

Fall Final Exam Week

Saturday, December 16

Fall semester ends

Commencement—Miller Auditorium—9 a.m. for Haworth College of Business and College of Education and Human Development; noon for College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, College of Health and Human Services and Extended University Programs; 3 p.m. for College of Arts and Sciences, College of Aviation and College of Fine Arts.

Tuesday, December 19

Final grades available for viewing

Monday, December 25-Monday, January 1

Many WMU offices closed for Winter break

Other

WMU Important Dates
Events in the College of Arts and Sciences
Events at Western Michigan University