Events

Department Icebreaker

Friday, Oct. 10

Get to know Department  faculty, staff and students.  Free lunch will be provided.  The event will be held outside in the recently renovated Rood Hall courtyard by the new fountain.

In the event of inclement weather, the Icebreaker will be moved indoors to the hallway outside Rood 1187.

 

The Department of Geosciences at Western Michigan University sponsors a seminar series, student proposal sessions and thesis defenses.

Seminar series

Location and time: 1118 Rood Hall at 4 p.m. (unless otherwise noted)

Monday, Sept. 29

"Photos at the beach: using gigapixel panoramas to monitor changes in open sand environments" by Brian Bodenbender, Hope College.

Monday, Oct. 6

"Mars meteorites: rocks from the red planet" by Mike Velbel, Michigan State University.

Monday, Oct. 13

"Anthropogenic impacts on recharge processes and water quality in basin aquifers of the desert southwest" by Wendy Robertson, Central Michigan University.

Friday, Oct. 24

"International hydrogeology and the practice of scientific diplomacy" by Michael Wireman, recipient of the 2014 Geosciences Alumni Achievement Award, 3 p.m.  The Department of Geosciences Advisory Council would like to extend an invitation to all geosciences students to meet and interact with immediately following the presentation.

Friday and Saturday, Oct. 24-25 WMU Homecoming weekend

Monday, Oct. 27

"Geosciences career management" by Karen Steeno, Western Michigan University.

Monday, Nov. 3

"Metal ratios in porphyry ore deposits" by Adam Simon, University of Michigan.

Monday, Nov. 10

"Experimental results on nucleation and crystallization of granitic magma" by Mona Sirbescu, Central Michigan University.

Monday, Nov. 17

"The impact of visualizations in promoting informed natural resource decisions " by Sheldon Turner, Northern Illinois University.

Monday, Nov. 24

"Geological resources management " by Paul Doss, University of Southern Indiana.