Calendar of SPuRS-Approved Events

Upcoming events

* Events with an (*) require registration. Click on the event link for details.
Event dates and times are subject to change.

Monday, November 20

*The 5 P's of Presenting Professionally Workshop - All WMU students majoring in business are invited to this career preparation workshop. Students who attend and contribute to this dynamic discussion on presenting yourself and projects or information will not only learn how to best approach and give a presentation but how to do so confidently and professionally. 1220 Schneider Hall, noon to 1:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 21

*Peer to Peer Talk Fest - Personal Branding, Zhang Career Center, 5 to 6 p.m.

Monday, November 27

*Starting Gate Workshop - "Marketing & Social Media" with guest speaker Heather Isch, Marketing and Branding Consultant at LFK Marketing.  Park Trades Center Building, Suite #321, 4 to 5:30 p.m.

Wednesday, November 29

Lyceum Lecture Series - "LGBTQ+ At the Intersections - Resisting Reconiliation: Queer Muslim Identity in America," Lee Honors College, noon to 1 p.m.

Monday, December 4

*Starting Gate Workshop - "Motivation: Even When the Critics Get You Down!" with guest speaker Michelle Mollard, Instructional Designer at Imperial Beverage.  Park Trades Center Building, Suite #321, 4 to 5:30 p.m.

Wednesday, December 6

Lyceum Lecture Series - "LGBTQ+ At the Intersections - The Life and Death of Latisha King," Lee Honors College, noon to 1 p.m.

Friday, December 8

*Entrepreneurship Forum - Kristin Fiore, founder, Down Dog Yoga Center, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Friday, January 12

*Entrepreneurship Forum - Adam McFarlin, owner, Kalamazoo Candle Company, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Friday, January 26

*Mercantile Bank of Michigan Breakfast Speaker Series - Peter Gistelinck, president and CEO, Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Friday, February 9

*Entrepreneurship Forum - Kevin Romeo, creative director, Rhino Media, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Thursday, February 15

Real Talk Diversity Series - "Unlikely Allies: The Case for Aligning Business and Social Justice," Adrian Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 6 to 8 p.m.

Friday, February 23

*Mercantile Bank of Michigan Breakfast Speaker Series -  Tim Lester, WMU football head coach, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m

Friday, March 16

*Entrepreneurship Forum - Roxanne Leder, owner, Decadent Dog, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Real Talk Diversity Series - "Systemic Change at WMU", Adrian Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 1 to 3 p.m.

Friday, March 30

*Mercantile Bank of Michigan Breakfast Speaker Series - Chris Burns, fixed income analyst, Greenleaf Trust, "Special Topics in Finance," 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m

Wednesday, April 11

Real Talk Diversity Series - "Enviromental Justice," Adrian Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 6 to 8 p.m.

Friday, April 13

*Entrepreneurship Forum - Regi Kurien, president, Amhawk, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m.

Friday, April 27

*Mercantile Bank of Michigan Breakfast Speaker Series - Jim Ritsema, Kalamazoo city manager, "Kalamazoo's Foundation for Excellence," 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m

Friday, May 18

*Mercantile Bank of Michigan Breakfast Speaker Series - Dr. Edward Montgomery, president, Western Michigan University, 2150 Schneider Hall, 7:30 to 9 a.m