People

WMU faculty

Key personnel

Photo of Jun

Jun-Seok Oh, Director
Professor
Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
jun.oh@wmich.edu
(269) 276-3216
Research interests: Transportation systems modeling, non-motorized transportation, traffic safety, intelligent transportation systems, traffic simulation

Photo of Valerian

Valerian Kwigizile, Associate Director
Assistant Professor
Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
valerian.kwigizile@wmich.edu
(269) 276-3218
Research interests: Traffic safety, non-motorized transportation, traffic enforcement, traffic data analysis

headshot of kay mortellaro

Kay Mortellaro, Center Coordinator
Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
kay.mortellaro@wmich.edu
Phone: (269) 276-3203
Fax: (269) 276-3211

headshot of osama abudayyeh

Osama Abudayyeh, Center Advisory Council
Professor and Chair
Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
osama.abudayyeh@wmich.edu
(269) 276-3252
Research interests: Bridge and infrastructure management, rapid bridge construction

Photo of Scott

C. Scott Smith, Public Relations & Outreach
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
c.scott.smith@wmich.edu
(269) 387-3484
Research interests: Urban planning, community development, transportation planning, environmental health justice

Key participants

Blank photo

Upul Attanayake
Assistant Professor
Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
upul.attanayake@wmich.edu
Research interests: Bridge engineering, condition assessment and health monitoring of structures, finite element applications

Photo of Ala

Ala Al-Fuqaha
Associate Professor
Computer Science
ala.al-fuqaha@wmich.edu
Research interests: System simulation and modeling, wireless communications, mobile computing, VANETs

Blank photo

Charles Emerson
Professor
Department of Geography
charles.emerson@wmich.edu
Research interests: Geographic Information Systems, remote sensing and spatial analysis

Blank photo

Robert Wall Emerson
Professor
Blindness & Low Vision Studies
robert.wall@wmich.edu
Research interests: Long cane biomechanics, quiet vehicles, mobility of people who are blind

Photo of David

David Guth
Professor
Blindness & Low Vision Studies
david.guth@wmich.edu
Research interests: Street crossing risk, roundabouts access for persons who are blind, perceptual cues for wayfinding at complex intersections

Photo of Ron

Dr. Ron Van Houten
Professor
Department of Psychology
ron.vanhouten@wmich.edu
Research interests: Human factors, traffic safety analysis, pedestrian behavior analysis

Blank photoLi Yang
Professor
Computer Science
li.yang@wmich.edu
Research interests: Database management
Blank photo

Dae Kim
Associate Professor
Blindness & Low Vision Studies
dae.kim@wmich.edu
Research interests: Long cane biomechanics, quiet vehicles, mobility of blind people

Photo of Paula

Paula D. Kohler
Assoc Vice President of Research
Special Education and Literacy Studies
paula.kohler@wmich.edu
Research interests: Effectiveness of secondary education and evaluation of implementation strategies

Photo of David

David Lemberg
Professor
Department of Geography
david.lemberg@wmich.edu
Research interests: Urban transportation planning, tourism, landscape and ecology

Photo of Richard

Richard Long
Associate Dean
College of Health and Human Services
richard.long@wmich.edu
Street crossing risk, roundabouts access for persons who are blind, perceptual cues for wayfinding at complex intersections