Music Composition

  • Photo of music composition students.
  • Group of composition students.

The music composition studio at Western Michigan University provides students with the necessary skills to succeed as creative musicians. We focus on helping students discover their own creative voice and develop the skills to realize their artistic vision. We provide training in composition for acoustic instruments and digital media. We foster an open environment that embraces aesthetic diversity, individual growth and community.

Fall 2014 

Student Composers I 
Thursday, Oct. 16, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Birds On A Wire and KLOrk 
Wednesday, Oct. 29, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Opera:
 Ever Since Eden by Bruce Trinkley

Friday, Nov. 14, 8 p.m. and Saturday, Nov. 15, 8 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets, Nov. 14 performance
purchase tickets, Nov. 15 performance

Matt Fountain Senior Recital
Sunday, Nov. 16, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Student Composers II

Monday, Nov. 24, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Michael Peterman Senior Recital
Wednesday, Dec. 3, 5:00 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Spring 2015

Bullock Performance Institute: Third Coast Percussion
Wednesday, Feb. 25, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: Ensemble Dal Niente
Wednesday, March 18, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

New Sounds Festival
: Kari Johnson, Pianist
Monday, Mar. 23, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Birds On A Wire and Guest Composer Robert Carl
Wednesday, March 25, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

Bullock Performance Institute: Mivos Quartet, string quartet
Wednesday, April 1, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge
purchase tickets

New Sounds Festival: Student Composers I
 
Friday, Apr. 3, 8 p.m. 
Dalton Center Lecture Hall, Free

New Sounds Festival: Student Composers I
I 
Monday, Apr. 6, 7:30 p.m. 
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Past events