Events

  • Benjamin Kamins, Bassoon

    Benjamin Kamins, Bassoon Professor at Rice University

    Coming to Western Michigan University on March 1, 2017

  • Bassoons on display

    Recent trip to the Fox Bassoon Factory in South Whitley, Indiana

Important bassoon events for 2016-17

Weekly reed class meets Monday morning, 9 to 9:50 a.m. from October 3 to December 5. All performances are on-campus unless otherwise noted.

  • Wednesday, Sept. 7, 2016: Opening Convocation performance, featuring Poulenc Trio with Wendy Rose (bassoon), Nora Lewis (oboe) and Lori Sims (piano).
  • Friday and Saturday, Sept. 16-17, 2016: Grand Rapids Symphony Orchestra (Wendy Rose, guest). Ravel, Daphnis and Chloe, Suite No. 2.
  • Monday, Sept. 19, 2016: Bassoon studio class, 1 p.m. 
  • Monday, Sept. 26, 2016: Woodwind area recital, 1 p.m., Dalton Center Lecture Hall.
  • Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016: Battle Creek Symphony Orchestra (Wendy Rose, principal bassoon). Beethoven, Symphony No. 3.
  • Monday, Oct. 3, 2016: Bassoon studio class, 1 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 10, 2016: Woodwind area recital, 1 p.m., Dalton Center Recital Hall.
  • Monday, Oct. 17, 2016: Bassoon studio class, 1 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 24, 2016: Bassoon studio class. Topic: Becoming a Stronger Performer, 1 p.m.
  • Monday, Oct. 31, 2016: Woodwind area recital, 1 p.m., Dalton Center Lecture Hall.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2016: Western Winds (with Wendy Rose and Laura Diaz), 7:30 p.m., Dalton Center Recital Hall.
  • Monday, Nov. 7, 2016: Bassoon studio class, 1 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, 2016: Battle Creek Symphony Orchestra (Wendy Rose, principal bassoon). Mozart, Don Giovanni Overture, Strauss, Don Juan. 
  • Monday, Nov. 14, 2016: Bassoon studio class: Mock auditions, 1 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2016: Convocation, featuring Piston's Trio for Flute, Clarinet and Bassoon, and Beethoven's Trio for Clarinet, Cello (Bassoon) and Piano. Performers: Wendy Rose, bassoon, Bradley Wong, clarinet, Martha Councell, flute, and Lori Sims, piano. Dalton Center Recital Hall, 1 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 21, 2016: Woodwind area recital, 1 p.m., Dalton Center Recital Hall. 
  • Monday, Dec. 5, 2016: Bassoon studio class. Topic: Large Ensemble Audition Preparation for spring 2017.
  • Thursday, Dec. 8, 2016: Bassoon studio recital, Dalton Center Lecture Hall, 5 p.m.

Important dates for spring 2017

  • Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017: WMU Double Reed Festival, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 1, 2017: Residency by Benjamin Kamins, Professor of Bassoon, Rice University. Master class time TBA, recital at 7:30 p.m., Dalton Center Recital Hall.  

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

View a complete listing of School of Music concerts.

For more information or to confirm an event, contact the School of Music at (269) 387-4667.