News and events

In Memoriam: We are saddened to report the passing of two of our former colleagues.

Dr. Ernest E. Rossi

Dr. Ernest E. Rossi

Dr. Ernest E. Rossi passed away on Friday, Aug. 7, in Cary, North Carolina. Rossi, professor emeritus of political science, served at WMU for 30 years, including stints as department chair and associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Ernie wrote several books including the Latin America Political Dictionary, European Political Dictionary, and Italian Americans: Bridges to Italy, Bonds to America. More information about his life and career.

Dr. Lawrence Ziring

Dr. Lawrence Ziring

Dr. Lawrence Ziring passed away on July 17. Dr. Ziring was the Arnold E. Schneider Professor Emeritus of Political Science at WMU. An expert on Pakistan, he was author or coauthor of 20 books on geopolitical issues. He retired in December 2004 after a thirty-seven and a half year career at WMU. He received WMU's Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award in 2004, the University's highest honor for a faculty member. More information about his life and career. At the request of Dr. Ziring's family, memorial donations may be made to Hospice Care of Southwest Michigan, Loaves and Fishes or the charity of one's choice.

Faculty news

  • Dr. Sushi Datta-Sandhu received a Faculty Achievement Award in Global Engagement from the College of Arts and Sciences.  The award recognizes her exemplary commitment to global engagement and internationalization, as expressed through research and creative activity; teaching, mentoring, or curriculum transformation; professional service; or a combination of achievements in these areas.  Congratulations, Sushi!
  • Dr. Karl Hokenmaier was recognized with a Part-time Instructor Excellence in Teaching Award from the College of Arts and Sciences.  The award acknowledges significant contributions to the learning environment by part-time instructors.  It is based on an accumulated record of achievement as a teacher at WMU as evidenced, for example, by student evaluations, peer and supervisor feedback, and letters of support.  Dr. Hokenmaier received his PhD from WMU in 2002.  Congratulations, Karl!

Student awards

  • David Bere, a political science major, recipient of the Kalamazoo Promise and a studio coordinator in the Office for Sustainability, is one of about 200 undergraduate students nominated by colleges and universities across the country to become 2015 Newman Civic Fellows by Campus Compact. He joins students from universities such as Stanford and Yale who collaborate to develop solutions to quality-of-life issues. Also named WMU's 2015 Student Employee of the Year, Bere is a bike mechanic and non-motorized transportation advocate and volunteers his time to many organizations in the community.

Ph.D. placements

  • Matt Arsenault (Ph.D. 2012) has been appointed assistant professor (tenure track) at Mount Aloysius College beginning in fall 2014. He previously served as a Presidential Management Fellow in the U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.
  • Michael Romano (Ph.D. 2014) has been appointed assistant professor at Shenandoah University, Virginia, beginning in fall 2015.

Political science alumni recall how their education has made a difference in their careers.