2016–17 Events

Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug

Events will be added as they are scheduled.

Parking in
Miller Auditorium
Monday - Thursday: Metered only until 8 p.m. ($0.25 per 10 min.)
Friday - Sunday: Free in any space starting at 4 p.m. Friday

September

Guest Artist Recital: Edward Simon Afinidad and Imani Winds
Sunday, Sept. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Best of MAT
Tuesday, Sept. 13, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Renata Artman Knific, Violin
Wednesday, Sept. 14, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bullock Performance Institute: John Hébert, Bass, with Western Jazz Quartet
Wednesday, Sept. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bullock Performance Institute: Stockholm Chamber Brass
Wednesday, Sept. 28, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

 

October

Guest Artist Recital: Latitude 49
Friday, Oct. 7, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Oct. 9, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

University Jazz Lab Band
Tuesday, Oct. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Martha Councell-Vargas, Flute, and Jeremy Siskind, Piano
Wednesday, Oct. 12, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Guest Artist Recital: Collect/Project
Thursday, Oct. 13, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Faculty Recital: Jeremy Siskind, Piano/Improvisation
Friday, Oct. 14, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Tim Ehlen, Piano
Saturday, Oct. 15, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphonic Band
Sunday, Oct. 16, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Michael Hall, Viola
Monday, Oct. 17, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Fareed Haque, Guitar, and Tom Knific, Double Bass
Wednesday, Oct. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Choral Showcase: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Sunday, Oct. 23, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: PRISM Saxophone Quartet
Sunday, Oct. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Concert Band
Tuesday, Oct. 25, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Sphinx Virtuosi
Wednesday, Oct. 26, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Jazz Masters Series: Peter Erskine, Drums
Thursday, Oct. 27, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Guest Artist Recital: Rose Ensemble
Sunday, Oct. 30, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Student Composers I
Monday, Oct. 31, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

November

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Winds
Wednesday, Nov. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Gold Company Sneak Preview
Thursday, Nov. 3, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Bronco Marching Band
Sunday, Nov. 6, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge

Guest Artist Recital: Marisa Martins, Mezzo-Soprano, and Mac McClure, Piano
Sunday, Nov. 6, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Electroacoustic Surround Sound Concert
Wednesday, Nov. 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Collegium Musicum
Thursday, Nov. 10, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Musical: Showboat
Friday, Nov. 11, 7:30 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

Musical: Showboat
Saturday, Nov. 12, 7:30 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

Musical: Showboat
Sunday, Nov. 13, 2 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

Guest Artist Recital: Alan Chow, Piano
Sunday, Nov. 13, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Faculty Recital: Carl Ratner, Baritone, and Lori Sims, Piano
Monday, Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Birds on a Wire
Wednesday, Nov. 16, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Big Band Swing Tribute: University Jazz Orchestra and University Jazz Lab Band
Thursday, Nov. 17, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Musical: Showboat
Thursday, Nov. 17, 7:30 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

Musical: Showboat
Friday, Nov. 18, 7:30 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

Musical: Showboat
Saturday, Nov. 19, 7:30 p.m.
Shaw Theatre, Charge
purchase tickets

University Symphonic Band and University Concert Band
Sunday, Nov. 20, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Kontras Quartet with WMU Faculty
Wednesday, Nov. 30, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

 

December

Student Composers II
Thursday, Dec. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

A Choral Christmas: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Sunday, Dec. 4, 4 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.
First Presbyterian Church, Kalamazoo, Charge

Annual Holiday Concert: Moscow Ballet’s Great Russian Nutcracker with the University Symphony Orchestra
Tuesday, Dec. 6, 7 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge
purchase tickets

University Percussion Ensemble
Thursday, Dec. 8, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

A Brass Celebration of Christmas
Sunday, Dec. 18, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

 

January

Bullock Performance Institute: MNOE featuring Laura Deming, Vocals
Wednesday, Jan. 18, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Student Composers III
Monday, Jan. 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Due East
Wednesday, Jan. 25, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

WMUsic Showcase Spectacular
Friday, Jan. 27, 8 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge

Guest Artist Recital: May Phang, Piano
Saturday, Jan. 28, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

February

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Wind Quintet
Wednesday, Feb. 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

University Jazz Orchestra and University Jazz Lab Band
Thursday, Feb. 2, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Christopher Atzinger, Piano
Saturday, Feb. 4, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, Feb. 5, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Western Winds
Tuesday, Feb. 7, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Wet Ink
Wednesday, Feb. 8, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Gold Company
Saturday, Feb. 11, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Charge

Concerto Competition Finals
Sunday, Feb. 12, 5:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Kontras Quartet and the Kruger Brothers
Wednesday, Feb. 15, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Horn Day: Final Concert
Saturday, Feb. 18, 6:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Symphonic Band
Sunday, Feb. 19, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

University Concert Band
Monday, Feb. 20, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Advanced Jazz Ensemble and Birds on a Wire
Wednesday, Feb. 22, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Choral Showcase: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Sunday, Feb. 26, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

 

March

Bullock Performance Institute: David Colson, Composer, and Ben Kamins, Bassoon
Wednesday, March 1, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Western Invitational Jazz Festival: Opening Concert featuring George Garzone, Saxophone
Friday, March 10, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Western Invitational Jazz Festival: Closing Concert featuring University Jazz Orchestra
Saturday, March 11, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Guest Artist Recital: Adam Unsworth, Horn
Tuesday, March 14, 5 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Western Brass Quintet
Wednesday, March 15, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

79th Annual Southwestern Michigan Vocal Festival: Francisco Núñez, Guest Conductor
Thursday, March 16, 7 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

University Symphony Orchestra: Pops Concert
Sunday, March 19, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Christopher Taylor, Piano
Sunday, March 19, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Kip Hickman, Trombone
Monday, March 20, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: Orchid Ensemble
Wednesday, March 22, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Faculty Recital: Lori Sims, Piano
Thursday, March 23, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Gold Company Invitational Vocal Jazz Festival: Opening Concert featuring Chico Pinheiro, Guitar
Friday, March 24, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Gold Company Invitational Vocal Jazz Festival: Closing Concert featuring Gold Company
Saturday, March 25, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

University Jazz Lab Band
Monday, March 27, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: The Merling Trio
Wednesday, March 29, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Collegium Musicum
Thursday, March 30, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Society of Composers, Inc.: National Conference
Thursday, March 30, through Saturday, April 1, times vary
Dalton Center, Free

 

April

WMU Trombone Choir
Sunday, April 2, 3 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Opera: Don Giovanni (abridged version)
Monday, April 3, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Opera: Don Giovanni (abridged version)
Tuesday, April 4, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Bullock Performance Institute: University Percussion Ensemble
Wednesday, April 5, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Charge

Gold Company II
Thursday, April 6, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Choral Showcase: University Chorale, Cantus Femina, and Collegiate Singers
Saturday, April 8, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

University Concert Band
Sunday, April 9, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Roomful of Teeth
Sunday, April 9, 7:30 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

49th Annual Spring Conference on Wind and Percussion Music: Steven Bryant, Guest Composer/Conductor
Thursday, April 13, 7:30 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

Guest Artist Recital: Joe Alessi, Trombone
Friday, April 14, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

Student Composers IV
Saturday, April 15, 8 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

37th Annual Music Therapy Clinic Concert
Monday, April 17, 7 p.m.
Dalton Center Recital Hall, Free

58th Annual Concerto Concert: University Symphony Orchestra
Sunday, April 23, 3 p.m.
Miller Auditorium, Free

 

May

 

June

 

July

 

August