Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Share |

Five WMU doctoral students named Frostic fellows

by Deanne Puca

April 19, 2011 | WMU News

KALAMAZOO--Five Western Michigan University doctoral candidates have been named recipients of Gwen Frostic Doctoral Fellowships during the 2010-11 academic year.

Frostic Doctoral Fellowships are given twice annually by WMU's Graduate College. They are made possible by an endowment from the estate of the late poet, artist and naturalist Gwen Frostic, a 1929 WMU alumna. The competitive fellowships ranged in amount from $1,000 to $4,000 and will assist doctoral students in all fields with dissertation expenses, including tuition and fees, materials and travel.

The first round of 2010-11 Gwen Frostic Doctoral Fellowship recipients and their research areas are: