WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Minutes of 13 May 2010

Members present: Lin Foulk, Muralidhar Ghantasala, Paula Kohler (for Vice President Daniel Litynski), Peter Krawutschke, Betty McCain (for Vice President Lowell Rinker designate Jan Van Der Kley), Carrie Leatherman, Lewis Pyenson, Vladimir Risukhin, Stephen Tasko, Alan Wuosmaa, Steven Ziebarth. **Also present**: Brooks Applegate, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology.

Council Chair Steven Ziebarth called the meeting to order at 2:40 p.m.

Approval of Minutes of 8 April 2010

A motion was made by Leatherman and seconded by Tasko to approve the minutes of 8 April 2010. Motion passed.

Approval of Agenda of 13 May 2010

A motion was made by Wuosmaa and seconded by Kohler to approve the agenda of 13 May 2010. Motion passed.

Reports of Officers

Office of the Vice President for Research – Paula Kohler, Associate Vice President

Fifteen Research Development Award applications were received, however two were not eligible. The committee approved all thirteen of the eligible RDA applications. Kohler offered a special congratulation to the College of Aviation, which submitted four proposals and all four were approved.

The OVPR is working to have a display case in the Bernhard Center devoted solely to faculty research for the future. The College of Aviation will be the first to be featured next fall, since it was the only college not featured during the 2009-10 academic year.

Kohler distributed an "External Funding Expenditures by Quarter" handout. This does not necessarily represent research expenditures. Ziebarth asked what the dollar goal is for these expenditures. Kohler answered that OVPR would like to see it grow, but the dollar goal largely depends on what the University wants the total portfolio of external funding expenditures to look like.

Kohler also distributed two additional handouts regarding Faculty Research and Creative Activities Support Fund and Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award Funding Awards by college.

The OVPR is working to create a "decision tree," which will help researchers in filling out buck sheets for proposals. This database will list graphically who is required to approve external funding requests for particular areas. Kohler hopes it will be ready by fall.

Graduate College Office—Lewis Pyenson

Approximately 115 doctorates were awarded this academic year (summer I graduation is the last semester counted in the academic year). Pyenson said this is a good number that has been gradually rising and the University should do everything it can to maintain this level of production and sustain our distinction in the state as a research institution. He would like to see the quality of the dissertations and doctoral programs improve even more.

Council Chair—Steven Ziebarth

Ziebarth welcomed new members:

- Alan Wuosmaa (Physics, re-elected),
- Vladimir Risukhin (Aviation, re-elected),
- Muralidhar Ghantasala (Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering),
- Stephen Tasko (Speech Pathology and Audiology), and
- Peter Krawutschke (new Faculty Senate President and Foreign Languages professor).

He also thanked Brooks Applegate and Greg Laing for their service on RPC. The Graduate Student Advisory Committee needs a new RPC representative for next year.

Continued Business

Conflict of Interest Policy Report

Wuosmaa, Kohler, and Ziebarth met to discuss the policy. The RPC Executive Committee (Wuosmaa, Ziebarth, and Foulk) will work with Mike Sharer (Director, Intellectual Property Management and Commercialization in OVPR), who helped develop both the Conflict of Interest and the Intellectual Property policies. Kohler recommended Richard Spates from Psychology and Jan Van Der Kley also serve on the committee. This committee will meet the first week of June.

Discussion of Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award Guidelines and Election of FRACAA Committee Chair

FRACAA Chair Brooks Applegate gave a final report on FRACAA for 2009-10. The ranked proposals were presented to the committee in raw scores and standardized, or "z scores." Unspent dollars from the Support for Faculty Scholars Award fund (around \$49,000) have been moved over to fund more FRACAA proposals. A committee member asked how reviewers are selected. Applegate answered that the FRACAA Chair and Walt Worthy (in OVPR) start with the list of those who received FRACAA awards previously (although it is not

necessary to have received a FRACAA to be a FRACAA reviewer). They try to select reviewers outside the department so the proposal is as anonymous as possible. FRACAA reviewers get to use the Faculty Research Travel Fund twice for their service to FRACAA.

The "z scores" are analyzed both within the group and within the category and the latter is what was distributed because it was deemed more reliable. A FRACAA reviewer typically reviews between eight-twelve proposals; creative arts three-six.

Applegate has opted to not stand for FRACAA chair next year, so nominations are being considered for a new FRACAA chair. The RPC Executive Committee and OVPR will select a chair from these nominations over the summer. Someone from RPC or OVPR will send links to nominees' curriculum vitas to the RPC EC. Applegate recommends the FRACAA chair be a sitting or ex officio member of RPC and that the next chair be in conversation with himself or another statistician. He would be willing to help the next chair in this transition. Krawutschke offered that he will check to see how to make the new FRACAA chair an ex officio RPC member. On another subject, he will also be sure the Senate provides charges to RPC next year.

New Business

Announcement of new RPC members and election of RPC officers for next year

The current officers will stand for one more year, but anyone is encouraged to step forward for next year. Kohler made a motion that Wuosmaa, Ziebarth, and Foulk continue as the RPC Executive Committee. Leatherman seconded. Motion passed.

Adjournment

Ziebarth made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 4:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Lin Foulk, College of Fine Arts Representative for RPC