WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Minutes of 8 April 2010

Members present: Brooks Applegate, Bri Bellinger (for Provost Delegate Eileen Evans), Carla Chase (for Mary Ann Stark), Van Cooley, Chris Coryn, Sime Curkovic, Lin Foulk, Greg Laing, Daniel Litynski, Jan Van Der Kley (for Vice President Lowell Rinker), Carrie Leatherman, Vladimir Risukhin, Steven Ziebarth Also present: Paula Kohler, associate vice president for research, Walter Worthy, research and sponsored programs

Council Chair Steven Ziebarth called the meeting to order at 2:34 p.m.

Approval of Minutes of 11 March 2010

A motion was made by Van Der Kley and seconded by Leatherman to approve the minutes of 11 March 2010. Motion passed.

Approval of Agenda of 8 April 2010

A motion was made by Van Der Kley and seconded by Chase to approve the agenda of 8 April 2010. Motion passed.

Reports of Officers

Office of the Vice President for Research—Daniel Litynski and Paula Kohler

- Fourteen Research Development Award applications have been received and the committee will make the award decisions in a week.
- A display case in the Bernhard Center will feature research from the Haworth College of Business and the College of Education and Human Development, 12-30 April. The OVPR has received complaints that the display space is shabby. They will work to improve this and maybe explore a new space for next year. The display highlights both internal and external research at WMU.
- Thirty-four participants took part in recent workshops hosted by OVPR.
- WMU Research and Creative Activities Poster Day is 9 April. Forty-one graduate students and twenty faculty will present poster participants between 9 and 11 am. Twenty-seven judges will adjudicate the presentations.
- Vice President Litynski distributed "Number, Value, and Percentage Change of Submissions and Awards" to the council. Applegate asked to see how much facilities and administrative (F/A) costs is represented in these awards and Litynski said he would be glad to bring in a report that studies whether the F/A policy has been enforced and where more F/A could be brought in.

Graduate College Office—Lewis Pyenson

No report

Council Chair—Steven Ziebarth

No report

Continued Business

Conflict of Interest Policy Report

Ziebarth has looked at the policy and will organize the sub-committee that will review it.

Celebration of Research Day—Carla Chase, Walter Worthy, Steven Ziebarth

Ziebarth thanked everybody for all of the work they have done to put the day together. He would like to see more research from fine art and humanities represented in future research days.

New Business

Election of a Chair of the Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award

Committee—Steven Ziebarth

Applegate described his duties as chair of FRACAA. Foulk motioned (Leatherman seconded) to table the vote for FRACCA chair to the next meeting and to notify former FRACAA reviewers who have served at least two years on a FRACAA review committee that there is an opportunity to run for chair of FRACAA. Motion passed unanimously. Worthy will notify former reviewers of the upcoming vote on 13 May. Two nominees are currently on the table: Ed Roth (Music) and Brooks Applegate (Educational Leadership, Research and Technology), current chair.

Upcoming Election of RPC Officers at May Meeting

This will be discussed at the next meeting on 13 May.

Adjournment

Ziebarth made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Lin Foulk, College of Fine Arts Representative for RPC