5 October 2009

TO: Research Policies Council Members Brooks Applegate Pau Carla Chase (for Mary Ann Stark) Gre Sime Curkovic Carr Eileen Evans (for Tim Greene) Tiar Lin Foulk Lisa

Paula Kohler Greg Laing Carrie Leatherman Tianshu Liu Lisa Minnick

Lewis Pyenson Vladimir Risukhin Jan Van Der Kley (for Lowell Rinker) Alan Wuosmaa

FROM: Steven Ziebarth, Chair

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Thursday, 8 October 2009, 2:30 p.m. Faculty Lounge, Bernhard Center

Proposed Agenda

1. Approval of the minutes of 17 September 2009

2. Acceptance of the agenda

3. Reports of Officers

- a. Office of the Vice President for Research Paula Kohler
- b. Graduate College *Lewis Pyenson*
- c. Council Chair Steven Ziebarth

4. Standard Business

a. Results of Support for Faculty Scholars Award review

5. Continued Business

- a. Charges from the September RPC meeting
 - i. Reaction to the Strategic Plan
 - ii. Develop a plan to examine the Conflict of Interest Policy
- b. Celebration of Research Day 2010 Identify a Chair

6. New Business

a. Policy on use of e-mail to recruit human subjects — *Jim Gilchrist, Vice Provost for Academic Operations and Chief Information Officer*

7. Adjournment

Elected council members who cannot attend a meeting of the Research Policies Council are asked to send a substitute of their choice who also represents their respective college. Nonelected members are not restricted as to whom they may designate to substitute for them.

c Walter Worthy, WMU-AAUP, GSAC