WESTERN MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

RESEARCH POLICIES COUNCIL Minutes of 17 September 2009

Members present: Carla Chase (for Mary Ann Stark), Van Cooley, Sime Curkovic, Eileen Evans (for Tim Greene), Greg Laing, Lin Foulk, Paula Kohler, Joe Kretovics (for Brooks Applegate), Carrie Leatherman, Tianshu Liu, Lisa Minnick, Lewis Pyenson, Vladimir Risukhin, Jan Van Der Kley (for Lowell Rinker), Alan Wuosmaa, and Steven Ziebarth. **Also present:** Walter Worthy, Research and Sponsored Programs.

Chair Steven Ziebarth called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

Approval of Minutes of 15 May 2009

A motion was made by Evans and seconded by Kohler to approve the minutes of 15 May 2009. Motion carried.

Reports of Officers

Office of the Associate Vice President for Research—Paula Kohler

Kohler introduced Van Cooley, who is a new representative for Faculty Senate President John Jellies from the Faculty Senate Executive Board. Kohler presented three documents: a three-year summary of external funding submissions and awards (by college), a three-year summary of the number of submissions and awards (by college), and a ten-year summary of year-to-date expenses for all projects (2000-09).

Kohler summarized current initiatives of her office, which include developing an interactive, digital buck sheet; creating boiler plates and budget templates that will have formulas and basic WMU information built into the documents; creating a database of faculty by research interest and area so the office can help pair up faculty across campus to encourage more inter-disciplinary projects; and launching a new Web site that will be easier to navigate (hopefully by October 10). The office created and distributed a poster that gives information about internal funding opportunities. Kohler announced the upcoming Support for Faculty Scholars Award workshop and reported that the Export Control Policy, which was reviewed by the council in the spring, was approved by the Faculty Senate. Software is being developed (that faculty will be able to access) that will help faculty be in compliance with the policy.

Graduate College Office—Lewis Pyenson

Pyenson discussed the latest ranking of graduate programs administered by the National Research Council in conjunction with National Academies. The campus census has occurred and graduate enrollment has gone up since last year.

No report.

Council Chair—Steven Ziebarth

Standard Business

Ziebarth announced support for Faculty Scholars Award proposals are due September 30.

Continued Business

See Paula Kohler's May 2009 report to the Faculty Senate, which outlines the completed charges of the council for the 2008-09 academic year.

New Business

A chart showing proposed 2009-10 Faculty Research and Creative Activities Support Funds distributions was distributed by Worthy and discussed. <u>Van Der Kley</u> <u>moved support of the proposed distribution amounts with the understanding that</u> <u>funds (including a carry over of approximately \$15,000.00 from last year) may be</u> <u>shifted from one award to another as needed within the FRACASF program,</u> <u>Wuosmaa seconded.</u> <u>Motion carried.</u> <u>The award amount of \$850 for Faculty</u> <u>Research Travel Fund was also approved.</u>

Ziebarth requested recommendations for RPC charges for the year. It was suggested that we consider creating a new system for identifying and inviting qualified Faculty Research and Creative Activities Award reviewers. FRACAA reviewers serve a three-year term and the current system relies on recommendations from associate deans.

Kohler suggested that we continue discussing the idea of resident tuition for externally-funded graduate students (regardless of residence). Kohler also suggested that the council may want to establish a committee to revisit the Conflict of Interest Policy. In her discussions with departments, it has come to her attention that this policy is not clearly understood by faculty in some departments.

It was suggested that the council continue to review the review process of SFSA since it is only in its second year of implementation.

The Research Celebration Day committee needs to be formed. <u>Chase made a</u> motion, seconded by Evans, to include the new University Assessment Steering Committee Award ceremony as part of RCD. The award is for an interdisciplinary student rubric competition. <u>Motion carried</u>.

Adjournment

Ziebarth made the motion to adjourn the meeting, Evans seconded. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Lin Foulk, College of Fine Arts Representative for RPC