2017 Award Recipients

2017 golden apple awards

Dr. Dennis McCrumb

Golden Apple Award 

dennis mccrumb golden apple award recipientDr. Dennis McCrumb (BS ’71, Physical Education and Mathematics), recipient of the Golden Apple Award, is the Program Coordinator of Educational Leadership (K-12 Leadership) at WMU. Dr. McCrumb began his career as a high school math teacher before going on to serve as assistant principal, assistant superintendent for business, and finally sixteen years as superintendent (Marcellus, MI). After retiring, he moved into higher education at WMU in Educational Leadership focusing on K-12 administration and received tenure as a Faculty Specialist II. Dr. McCrumb has devoted himself to educational and instructional improvement for increased student achievement.  This includes working with teachers, parents and school administrators as well as curriculum, instruction and assessment.

Dr. McCrumb has served on various educational and community boards and has been instrumental in creating and maintaining a positive relationship with the public schools, WMU, and the Department of Educational Leadership, Research and Technology, through his creation of superintendent and principal advisory committees.  

Dr. McCrumb served on the College of Education Alumni Society board for 28 years and was president for many of those years. One of his greatest accomplishments was assisting in creating the Golden Apple Award in 1998 to honor excellence in education.


Dr. Richard Sanchez

Golden Apple Award

richard sanchez golden apple award recipientDr. Richard Sanchez (EdD ’72, Educational Leadership), recipient of the Keystone Meritorious Award, is the President of Navarro College, located in Corsicana, Texas. Dr. Sanchez was previously president of Navarro College for fifteen years before retiring in 2013. He then returned to the college in March 2016 as Interim Chancellor before being appointed President in September 2016. 

Dr. Sanchez began his career in college administration at California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo, California in 1972 as an Associate Professor of Education and Associate Dean, School of Human Development and Education. In 1978 he became attracted to the mission of the community college where he has served for over 39 years. 

During his fifteen (15) year tenure, Navarro College experienced dramatic growth moving from 3,600 students to over 10,000. He is the founding President of the Navarro College/Texas A&M University-Commerce Partnership and the Midlothian Higher Education Center where several four-year universities provide access to baccalaureate and master’s degrees. He is also the founding president of the Midlothian Campus in Midlothian, TX – one of five locations maintained by Navarro College.   


2017 keystone awards

Dr. Gerald Juhnke

Keystone Meritorious Award

gerald juhnke keystone award recipientDr. Gerald Juhnke (PhD ’91, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology), recipient of the Keystone Meritorious Award, is a Professor of Counseling and Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate School at the University of Texas San Antonio.

Dr. Juhnke, whose clinical work and research are specific to life-threatening behaviors such as sex trafficking and suicide, has authored 12 books, 66 journal articles, and 15 assessment instruments. He is an American Counseling Association Fellow and Past President of two national counseling associations. Dr. Juhnke is the Journal of Counseling and Development Associate Editor, former Editor of The Journal of Addictions and Offender Counseling, and former Co-Chair of the ACA’s Council of Journal Editors. He has received numerous counseling and teaching awards including the ACA’s David K. Brooks’ Distinguished Mentor Award and the ACA’s Ralph F. Berdie Research Award.

While at WMU, Dr. Juhnke’s clinical family therapy skills were robustly enriched via three-and-a-half years of Dr. Alan Hovestadt’s “live clinical” supervision. Dr. Juhnke is married to his college sweetheart, Debbie. The couple has two children, both of whom attend Texas Tech University.


Dr. Floyd Wilson, Jr.

Keystone Meritorious Award

floyd wilson jr keystone award recipientFloyd Wilson, Jr. (MA ’99, Education and Professional Development), recipient of the Keystone Meritorious Award, is the Chief Operating Officer (COO) of Cancer and Hematology Centers of Western Michigan, P.C.  Prior to his current position, he served as Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) for Metro Health, University of Michigan Health. Additionally, Wilson had roles as Executive Vice President and Chief Human Resource Officer as well as responsibility for Community Relations.  Before Joining Metro Health, University of Michigan Health, Wilson served as a Chief Human Resources Officer for Spectrum Health Hospital.

Wilson is also known as a community leader, serving on a number of boards, including Goodwill Industries, Kent County Aeronautics (Gerald R. Ford Airport), Convention Arena Authority and Experience Grand Rapids. He was awarded the prestigious Walter Coe Public Services award as a Giants Award Recipient in 2015 and the coveted American Diabetes Association Father of the Year Award in 2016. Wilson is a life-long learner who uses his leadership abilities to enhance positive cultures in work and the community.