Events

The College of Arts and Sciences at Western Michigan University strives to add value to the lives of its learners and continuously improve the quality of its programming to meet the needs and expectations of the communities it serves. Join us for events that are tailored to your academic interests and help prepare you for the future.

Submitting events for this calendar

Submit your events or news items online to the College of Arts and Sciences. For a series of events, please email a list or the web address of the series information to coas-web@wmich.edu.

Submitting events to University Relations

If your event is open to the entire campus community, please share it with University Relations.

If you have CMS access, please add an event under Add Content in the CMS. If you do not see that option under Add Content, please apply for the reporter role for your section(s).

If you rarely submit events and do not have a Content Management Role for a website, complete the University event form.

Need a conference room for your event?

Reserve a conference room in 2302 or 2307 Friedmann Hall.

College of Arts and Sciences news

Stay up-to-date with the college news.

Upcoming events

Thursday, February 8

Career Fair 2018—Bernhard Center Ballrooms, 10 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Women's Caucus lecture–"The Relevance, Reward, and Risk of Feminist Activism in the Academy," presented by Dr. Kris De Welde of the College of Charleston, co-sponsored by the Departments of Gender and Women's Studies and Sociology, the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, and Women's Studies at Kalamazoo College, 1910 Sangren Hall, 5:30 p.m.

Ethics talk–"The Relevance, Reward and Risk of Feminist Activism in the Academy," presented by Dr. Kris De Welde of the College of Charleston, 1910 Sangren Hall, 7 p.m.

Ethics/Humanities Lecture Series–The Promise of Education, "The Humanities in the Age of Demagoguery," presented by David Denby, staff writer and former film critic, 3508 Knauss Hall, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 9

Geography Colloquium–"The Interacting Controls of Pyrolysis Temperature and Plant Taxa on the Reactivity of Pyrogenic Organic Matter in a Northern Michigan Forest Soil," presented by Dr. Timothy Filley of Purdue University, 2119 Wood Hall, 3 to 4 p.m.

Biological Sciences Seminar Series–"Navigating the Tangled Bank: Insights from Ecological Dynamics," presented by Dr. Tim Wooton of the University of Chicago, 1710 Wood Hall, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 14

Economics lecture–Werner Sichel Series, "Why has Income Inequality Increased While Education Inequality Has Decreased in Many Developing Countries," presented by David Lam of the University of Michigan, 2028 Brown Hall, noon to 1:15 p.m.

Thursday, February 15

Real Talk Diversity Series—"Unlikely Allies: The Case for Aligning Business and Social Justice," Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 6 to 8 p.m. Free; light refreshments provided.

Friday, February 16

Chinese New Year
Biological Sciences Seminar Series–"Integrating Vegetation Spectroscopy with Plant Ecology," presented by Dr. John Couture of Purdue University, 1710 Wood Hall, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Monday, February 19

Presidents' Day

Donuts with the Deans–informal monthly gatherings for faculty, staff and students to share comments, concerns and ideas with the dean and associate deans of the College of Arts and Sciences, University Center for the Humanities- 2500 Knauss Hall, 9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Thursday, February 22

Global and International Studies Speaker Series–Research briefs in global studies presents, "Diversity in Cities: Past and Present" by Drs. Alisa Perkins and James Palmitessa, 3025 Brown Hall, 4 p.m. Event flier

Friday, February 23

Spring Convocation—"A Recognition of Discovery, Diversity and Global Engagement," scholar talks, luncheon, convocation, awards ceremony and reception for WMU community, Fetzer Center, 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Biological Sciences Seminar Series–"How to Be (and Recognize) Yourself: Species Recognition in Avian Brood Parasites and Their Hosts," presented by Dr. Mark Hauber of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, 1710 Wood Hall, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Monday, February 26

Environment and Sustainability luncheon–"Environmental Employment Insights and Mentor Matchmaking," a panel of professionals representing the various facets of the environmental industry to share insights with WMU students aspiring to enter the environmental field, 1035-1055 Fetzer Center, noon to 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 28

Ethics panel discussion—"Legal Ethics in the Media," moderated by Victoria Vuletich and Tonya-Krause-Phelan, WMU Cooley  Law School, and Norman Hawker, Haworth College of Business, Bernhard Center's Brown and Gold Room, 4 p.m. Free; light refreshments provided.

Friday, March 2

Spirit Day—no classes

Saturday, March 3

Michigan History Day District 6 Competition–Bernhard Center, second floor, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Monday, March 5

Spring semester recess—through March 9

Tuesday, March 6

Spring semester recess—through March 9

Wednesday, March 7

Spring semester recess—through March 9

Thursday, March 8

Spring semester recess—through March 9

Friday, March 9

Spring semester recess—through March 9

Sunday, March 11

Daylight Saving Time begins

Monday, March 12

Spring semester classes resume at 8 a.m.

Environment and Sustainability lecture–"Michigan Environmental Policy," presented by the Michigan Environmental Council, Lee Honors College lounge, 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Friday, March 16

Real Talk Diversity Series—Systemic Change at WMU," Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 1 to 3 p.m. Free; light refreshments provided.

Geography Colloquium–"More Disasters or a More Sustainable Future? Challenges and Opportunities of Climate Change," presented by Dr. Carol Harden of the University of Tennessee, 2119 Wood Hall, 3 to 4 p.m.

Saturday, March 17

St. Patrick's Day

Monday, March 19

Donuts with the Deans–informal monthly gatherings for faculty, staff and students to share comments, concerns and ideas with the dean and associate deans of the College of Arts and Sciences, University Center for the Humanities- 2500 Knauss Hall, 2 to 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 20

Vernal equinox (first day of spring)

Wednesday, March 21

Global and International Studies Speaker Series–Research briefs in global studies presents, "Telling Migration Stories" by Drs. Ann Miles and Susan Pozo, 3025 Brown Hall, 4 p.m. Event flier

Thursday, March 22

Humanities Speaker Series—The Promise of Education, "Education Reform and the Promise of Public Education," presented by Diane Ravitch, Dalton Center Recital Hall, 7 to 9 p.m.

Wednesday, March 28

Economics lecture–Werner Sichel Series, "Institutions, Structures and Policy Paradigms in Sub-Saharan Africa: Toward Understanding Inequality," presented by Howard Stein of the University of Michigan, 2028 Brown Hall, noon to 1:15 p.m.

Thursday, March 29

Ethics Lecture Series—"Why We Don't Have a Peace Memorial: The Vietnam War and the Distorted Memory of Dissent," Dr. Christian Appy, professor of history at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, 1028 Brown Hall, 7 p.m.

Friday, March 30

Good Friday

Passover begins at sundown

Sunday, April 1

Easter Sunday

Monday, April 2

Ethics panel discussion—"Educational Equity: From the 'Kalamazoo Case' to the 'Kalamazoo Promise' and Beyond," moderated by Kathy Purnell, political science and Ashley Atkins, philosophy, 204 Bernhard Center, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, April 4

Global and International Studies Speaker Series–Research briefs in global studies presents, "Interviews in Fieldwork" by Drs. Chien-Juh Gu and Gregory Veeck, 3025 Brown Hall, 4 p.m. Event flier

Saturday, April 7

Passover ends

Wednesday, April 11

Real Talk Diversity Series—"Environmental Justice," Trimpe Building Multicultural Center, 6 to 8 p.m. Free; light refreshments provided.

Thursday, April 12

Humanities Speaker Series—The Promise of Education, “Inequality, Citizenship, and the Promise of Education," presented by Danielle Allen, 2452 Knauss Hall, 7 to 9 p.m.

Monday, April 16

Donuts with the Deans–informal monthly gatherings for faculty, staff and students to share comments, concerns and ideas with the dean and associate deans of the College of Arts and Sciences, University Center for the Humanities- 2500 Knauss Hall, 10 to 11:30 a.m.

Monday, April 23

Final examination week—through April 26

Tuesday, April 24

Final examination week—through April 26

Wednesday, April 25

Final examination week—through April 26

Thursday, April 26

Final examination week—through April 26

Saturday, April 28

Commencement—Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in March.

Spring semester ends

Monday, May 7

Summer I session classes begin at 8 a.m.

Wednesday, May 9

Donuts with the Deans–informal monthly gatherings for faculty, staff and students to share comments, concerns and ideas with the dean and associate deans of the College of Arts and Sciences, University Center for the Humanities- 2500 Knauss Hall, 1 to 2:30 p.m.

Wednesday, June 13

Information session—On WMU employee tuition remission program, 205 Bernhard Center, noon. Free; refreshments will be served.

Thursday, June 14

Eid al Fitr begins at sundown

Thursday, June 21

Summer solstice (first day of summer)

Saturday, June 23

Commencement—Miller Auditorium, times to be announced in May.

Wednesday, June 27

Summer I session ends

Thursday, June 28

Summer II session begins