2013 Awards Ceremony

2013 Awards Ceremony

2013 Department Awards Ceremony

The History Department’s annual awards ceremony took place on Friday afternoon, April 12, in the University Humanities Center.  Close to one hundred people attended, including many department alumni. 

heasleyDr. Joe Brandao announced two faculty award winners.  Dr. Lynne kachunHeasley won the College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Achievement Award in Teaching.  Dr. Mitch Kachun won the Timothy Hurttgam Memorial Award, which recognizes a faculty member from the Departments of Political Science, Environmental Studies, History, or English who has made contributions in the areas of peace and social justice.

Delandra Brokaw is in her second year with the renewable History Fellowship Award. Ambrosia Huber won the History Fellowship Award as an incoming freshman.  Kelsey hamiltonEnnis won the Dr. Barbara Havira Fellowship Award as an incoming freshman.

Dr. James Cousins announced several undergraduate student award recipients. The History Department’s highest undergraduate honor, the Presidential Award, went to Jeannine Hamilton.

Seth Allard, Tyler Bos, Benedict Chatelain, Christopher Cox, Mary Davis, Lucy Kent-Bracken, Arielle Smith, and Tyler Wilson won Undergraduate Emeriti Fellows Grants. undergradawards The Smith Burnham Outstanding Intern Awards went to Sarah Bartley and Lucas Nuismer.  The Bert Nash Award for promising future history or social studies teachers went to Mary Davis and Renea Wrenbeck. The Margaret Macmillan Undergraduate Writing Award went to Kalani Bates, while Andrew Archey won the Cheryl Lyon-Jenness Advanced Undergraduate Writing Award. Two students won Haynor Scholarships in History.  Finally, Honors in History designations went to Sarah Bartley, Devin Erlandson, Aaron Fruehauf, Justin Hochmuth, Katie Jones, Emily Kelley, Aaron Miller, and Megan Sydor.

Dr. Mitch Kachun recognized several graduate student award recipients. Steve Staggs was the History Department’s nominee for the Ph.D. All-University Research Award.  Claire Herhold won the M.A. Teaching Award while Hilary Anderson won the M.A. Research Award.  Benjamin Page was honored with the Robert Russell Writing Award.  Eric Callender won the Research Assistance Excellence Award. Many students won gradawardssupport for research and travel.  Skylar Bre’z , Randall Janes, Adam Fernandez, Jamie McCandless, and Michael Sanders won department awards for Research and Travel. Jamie McCandless, Randall Janes, and Michael Sanders won Nora Faires Research and Travel Awards. In addition, John Byczynski and Randall Janes won Graduate College Support for Research and Travel awards. The Ernest Breisach Award for European History went to David Terry and the Judith F. Stone Award went to Randall Janes.

These awards are made possible by generous donations to funds and endowments benefiting the Department of History.

Ceremony Program


Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5334 USA
(269) 387-4650 | (269) 387-4651 Fax