Strengthening Community Connections Award

This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to establishing or strengthening meaningful ties between Western Michigan University and community partners. The awardee's actions have furthered the University as a vital component of the community by advocating greater involvement between the University and community sectors while building lasting community collaborations.

Required materials:
Completed nomination form and one support form is required. Additional support forms is optional and will be accepted if submitted. If nomination and support forms are not fully complete, submissions will not be reviewed by Awards and Recogntion Committee.

Deadline for submission: March 9, 2018
*Note: Those submitting Support information need only fill out the Support Form.

Nomination form Support form


College of Education and Human Development faculty (tenured, tenure track, term or jointly-appointed), part-time and adjunct faculty, administrators and staff (full-time and part-time) are eligible for nomination. Individuals may not receive this award more than once in a five-year period.

Selection criteria

  1. Participates in educational and community collaborations which encompass more than one singular community activity.
  2. Contributes to collaboration which provides significant and recognizable educational or community contributions.
  3. Clearly demonstrates social and civic motivation.
  4. Each nomination and supporting letter must be at least 350 words, with a maximum of 500.

Selection process

Nominations are reviewed and selected by the College of Education and Human Development Awards and Recognition Committee. Award recipients will be notified by early April. Awards will be presented at the College of Education and Human Development Awards and Recognition Celebration.

Nomination process

Nominations may originate from the dean or other college administrators, department chairs, program directors, department committees, individual faculty, staff or students. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations and letters of support should clearly identify and document how the nominee meets each of the criteria listed above.

Questions may be directed to Amy Burns.

2017 Award Recipient

  • Dr. Patricia Reeves


  • Dr. Mary L. Anderson


  • Dr. Amos Aduroja