2016 Transfer Scholarships

Please note: the following scholarship deadlines have passed for the Fall 2016 entry term. Please consult the website in the future for Fall 2017 scholarship information.

Community College Competitive Transfer scholarships

New students transferring from a community college may be considered for one of the following merit-based awards. Students must have transferred at least 26 semester hours by January 2016, and must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average in transferable courses (as calculated by the Office of Admissions) for consideration. All newly admitted transfer students who meet the scholarship criteria will be sent information about consideration and awards. To be considered for a competitive transfer scholarship, you must submit all documents required for admission, including up-to-date transcripts, to the Office of Admissions by the appropriate deadline. The deadline for the Michigan Community College scholarships has passed.

Michigan community college students Non-Michigan community college students

Alumni Legacy scholarships

The Western Michigan University Alumni Association recognizes the loyalty of multi-generational Bronco families with the Legacy Scholarships. Applicants who are a child, grandchild, step-grandchild, sibling or spouse of a WMU alumna or alumnus are encouraged to apply. Siblings of current students may also apply. These awards are not guaranteed and students must submit an online scholarship application by February 1, 2016.

review details

Financial Aid Endowed scholarships

These awards are made possible through endowments established by WMU's many generous donors over the years. Criteria and amounts vary by scholarship, so review each scholarship for specific details. Only one application is required to apply for more than 30 awards. The application will be available in December 2015. Students must file the FAFSA by February 15, 2016 and must deliver the scholarship application to the Student Financial Aid Office by February 16, 2016. Visit the Student Financial Aid website for complete scholarship listings and applications and call (269) 387-6000 for questions.

review details

Departmental awards

WMU has a variety of departmental awards administered directly by colleges, schools, and academic departments. Please consult the scholarship information for each academic college and department as the deadlines vary between December 15 and February 15, 2016.

review details