Web Governance Leadership

Web Executive Committee

By authority of the president of the University, executive ownership is vested in the Web Executive Committee, composed of the senior University officers in academics, business, communication and marketing, development and alumni relations, information technology and student affairs.


Greg Rosine, Vice President for University Relations (chair)
Dr. Diane Anderson, Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. James Gilchrist, Vice Provost for Information Technology and CIO
Dr. Timothy Greene, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Cheryl Roland, Executive Director of University Relations
Jim Thomas, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations
Jan Van Der Kley, Vice President for Business and Finance and CFO
Dan Lobelle, Director of Electronic Communication (ex-officio)
Gregory Lozeau, Director of Information Technology Planning (ex-officio)

Among the responsibilities of the committee are authorization of major purchases, allocation of resources, and appointment of members to the Web Governance Council.

Web Governance Council

The Web Governance Council is the principal governing body for Western Michigan University's Web presence and electronic communication. The council reports to and is empowered by the Web Executive Committee. The council is authorized to consider all aspects of both public and intranet Web communication—specifically GoWMU—representing the University, its departments, offices and services. The responsibilities and authorities of the council do not supersede those already assigned to the offices of Business and Finance, Information Technology, University Relations or other units.

  • Council members serve unlimited terms at the pleasure of the executive committee.
  • The executive committee designates a chair or chairs to lead the council, and council leadership serves at the pleasure of the executive committee.
  • Meetings of the council are held as needed and may be called by the chair upon request of any member of the council.
  • Members may designate any other member as their proxy; only members of the council may vote on matters before the council.
  • Members of the University community may petition the chair or any member of the council to raise a matter on their behalf.
  • Only members of the council may participate in the formal business of the council.
  • Guests may be invited to make presentations, as approved by the chair.
  • A simple majority of council members, including proxies, shall constitute a quorum at a meeting of the council. A simple majority of council members present, including proxies, is required to pass any formal resolution.
  • At the discretion of the chair, formal action may be taken in the absence of a meeting by submitting a proposal in writing to all members of the council. An affirmative vote by a majority of all council members shall carry the same force and effect as a majority vote at a meeting of the council.

Members and areas represented

Dan Lobelle, university relations (co-chair)
Gregory Lozeau, information technology (co-chair)
George Brown, college deans
Penny Bundy, admissions
Scott Coy, public safety and emergency management
Felicia Crawford, Human Resources
Carrie Cumming, registrar
Bob D’Amelio, athletics
Dr. Alex Enyedi, college deans
Dr. Dawn Gaymer, Extended University Programs
Dr. Paula Kohler, research
Dr. Suzie Nagel, student affairs
Vernon Payne, student affairs
Rebecca Solomon, international affairs
Baiba Stepe, Auxiliary Enterprises
Patti Van Walbeck, business and finance

Among the responsibilities of the council are approval of policies and standards for web communication, approval or denial of petitions for exemption from policies or standards, and appointment of members to various working groups as defined by the council. The working groups shall, in turn, make recommendations to the council in the areas defined by the council.

Approved April 30, 2009
Updated April 29, 2013