Fourth Annual Summer Conference on Livable Communities

Innovations on Active Transportation for Livable Communities

  • June 1 - 2, 2017

  • College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI

The Transportation Research Center for Livable Communities (TRCLC), a Tier 1 University Transportation Center funded by the US Department of Transportation, is hosting its 4th Annual Summer Conference on Livable Communities. The conference will be held on June 1 - 2, 2017 at Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan. See below for detailed information and important dates. 

TRCLC is accepting podium presentations and graduate student posters until March 31, 2017. Transportation research related to livable communities are encouraged to submit. There will be best poster awards at the conference. Please submit abstracts from the link below. 

Submit Abstract

Topic Areas

  • Innovations on active transportation

  • Non-motorized transportation safety

  • Safe mobility for elderly and people with disabilities

  • Enhancing public transit services

  • Transportation services for livable communities

Conference Activities

  • Presentations

  • Graduate Student Poster Session

  • Workshop

  • Roundtable Discussion

Who to Attend

  • Researchers in academia

  • Graduate students

  • Transportation engineers

  • Urban and transportation planners

  • Non-motorized transportation advocates

  • Local government administrators

Important Dates

  • March 31, 2017:                  Abstract Submission

  • April 15, 2017:                     Acceptance Notification

  • April 1 – May 1, 2017:       Conference Registration (seats are limited)

  • May 1, 2017:                        Final Schedule Announcement

  • June 1 – 2, 2017:               Conference

Conference Committee

  • Jun-Seok Oh, Western Michigan University (Chair)

  • Valerian Kwigizile, Western Michigan University

  • Stephen Mattingly, University of Texas, Arlington

  • Ziqi Song, Utah State University

  • Deo Chimba, Tennessee State University

  • Timothy Gates, Michigan State University

  • Steve Remias, Wayne State University