Western Michigan University

Tresidential Scholars

Forty-Third Annual Convocation March 17, 2023

<u>Arrival</u> 4 – 4:30 p.m.

<u>Welcome</u> 4:30 – 4:35 p.m. Sarah Summy, President Faculty Senate

Opening Remarks

4:35 – 4:45 p.m. Shelly Edgerton Chair, Board of Trustees followed by Edward Montgomery, President Western Michigan University

Keynote Address

4:45 – 4:55 p.m. Emma Baratta Graduate Assistant for the WMU Office of Government Relations 2022 Presidential Scholar in Political Science

Presentation of the Presidential Scholars

4:55 – 5:25 p.m. Julian Vasquez Heilig, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and College Deans

Closing Remarks

5:25 – 5:30 p.m. Sarah Summy, President Faculty Senate

Reception

5:30 – 6:00 p.m.

Josephine Thomas Presidential Scholar in Accountancy Adilene Nieves Rios Presidential Scholar in Art Morgan Boyd Presidential Scholar in Aviation Jake Fanizza Presidential Scholar in Biological Sciences **Cameron Johnson** Presidential Scholar in Business Information Systems Zahira Sanchez Presidential Scholar in Chemical and Paper Engineering **Rajendra Panth** Presidential Scholar in Chemistry Samuel Hall Presidential Scholar in Civil and Construction Engineering **Raymond Falkiewicz** Presidential Scholar in Communication Tephani DeYoung Presidential Scholar in Comparative Religion Sebastian Smiley Presidential Scholar in Computer Science Libby McKenzie Presidential Scholar in Dance **Cecelia Chapleau** Presidential Scholar in Economics Tawfig Abuaita Presidential Scholar in Electrical and Computer Engineering John Goheen Presidential Scholar in Engineering Design, and Management System Kostandi Stephenson Presidential Scholar in English Phoebe Liccardo Presidential Scholar in Environment and Sustainability **Derek Fischer** Presidential Scholar in Family and Consumer Sciences **Ashley Hare** Presidential Scholar in Finance and Commercial Law **Quinn Heiser** Presidential Scholar in Geography, Environment, and Tourism Donovan Vitale Presidential Scholar in Geological and Environmental Sciences Emily Kostbade Presidential Scholar in Global and International Studies Nathan Halder Presidential Scholar in History Hannah Finkler Presidential Scholar in Human Performance and Health Education

Matthew Baker Presidential Scholar in Industrial and Entrepreneur Engineering and Engineering Management Lidya Kartika Presidential Scholar in Integrated Supply Management **Payton Gagliardi** Presidential Scholar in Intercultural and Anthropology Studies Logan West Presidential Scholar in Interdisciplinary Health Programs Jacob Myers Presidential Scholar in Management **Taylor Davis** Presidential Scholar in Marketing Juliana Fried

Presidential Scholar in Mathematics **Tyler Johnson** Presidential Scholar in Mechanical and Aerospace

Engineering Caleb Piersma

Presidential Scholar in Music Chase Rosengarten Presidential Scholar in Nursing

Dayna Mulder Presidential Scholar in Philosophy and

Presidential Scholar in Political Science Imogen Courtney

Presidential Scholar in Physics Haila Jiddou

Presidential Scholar in Psychology Robert Carico

Presidential Scholar in Public Affairs and Administration

Eva Fotieo Presidential Scholar in Social Work **Lindsay Kovach** Presidential Scholar in Sociology

Marysol Millar Presidential Scholar in Spanish

Presidential Scholar in Spanish Sara Gerber Presidential Scholar in Special Education and Literacy Studies

Presidential Scholar in Speech, Language and Hearing Science

Timothy Gunawan Presidential Scholar in Statistics Sam Arnold

Presidential Scholar in Teaching, Learning, and Educational Studies Grace Niec Presidential Scholar in Theatre Erskine Payton Presidential Scholar in University Studies Noah Braasch Presidential Scholar in World Languages & Literatures