Faculty/Staff

Faculty/Staff

 

August 12, 2013

One Stop

The Fall 2013 One Stop Center will begin in a few weeks in the West Ballroom of the Bernhard Center.  The dates and times are as follows:

Monday, Aug 26:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug 27:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug 28:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Thursday, Aug 29:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Friday, Aug 30:  9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept 3:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Wednesday, Sept 4:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Thursday, Sept 5:  9 a.m. to 6 p.m
Friday, Sept 6:  9 a.m. to noon
Additional information on One Stop, as well as a list of offices represented, can be at: http://www.wmich.edu/registrar/onestop/.

CAS Advising Grand Opening

The College of Arts and Sciences is hosting an open house to celebrate the grand opening of their newly renovated Office of Undergraduate Advising.   Please join them on Monday, August 19 from 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. in 2318 Friedmann Hall.    

FERPA and a Student’s Right to Control Disclosure

FERPA grants students the right to restrict the release of directory information.   At WMU students have two options for privacy.  They can elect to restrict their address and phone number from being released for publication, or choose to not have any directory information given out.    Students wishing to invoke their right to privacy need to complete a request form available on the Registrar’s Office website under the “Student Privacy” link.   
Students considering restricting the release of directory information should be advised of some possible unintended consequences.  For instance, a FERPA restriction makes it difficult for potential employers to verify enrollment or degree information.  A student would also be excluded from appearing in the commencement program or on the Dean’s list.  Students can submit a “Revoke Privacy Form” at any time if they wish to remove their name from the privacy list. 

Students who have invoked privacy will be noted in Banner with a confidentiality flag.   When accessing the student’s record in Banner a warning message will pop up and all Banner forms will display a “confidential” message in the upper left hand corner.  Please note, even if a student has confidentiality, information can still be made available to faculty and staff for the purpose of performing an appropriate educational or administrative function.

Upcoming Dates:

  • Friday, August 16—Summer II session ends
  • Tuesday, August 20—Final grades due at noon
  • Monday, August 26 to Friday, September 6—One Stop
  • Tuesday August 27 to Friday, August 30—Fall Welcome
  • Monday, September 2—Labor Day recess
  • Tuesday, September 3—Fall classes begin
  • Monday, September 9—Last day to drop/add
  • Tuesday, September 10—Census
  • Wednesday, September 11--$100 late fee begins
  • Thursday, September 12—Last day to receive a 90% refund for complete withdraw
  • Monday, September 16—Last day to receive a 50% refund for a partial withdraw
  • Friday, September 27—Last day to receive a 50% refund for a complete withdraw
  • Sunday, September 29—First work grade due
  • Wednesday, October 23—Last day to receive a 25% refund for a complete withdraw
  • Sunday, October  27—Midterm grades due
  • Monday, November  4—Last day to withdraw
  • Wednesday, November 27—Thanksgiving recess starts at noon
  • Monday, December 2—Classes resume
  • Tuesday, Dec. 17—Final grades due at noon

Visit related WMU sites

There is a lot more to see! Visit some of our friends at WMU to learn about academics, costs of attendance, and campus life.

Office of the Registrar
1903 W Michigan Ave
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5256 USA
269 387-4300 | 269 387-3545
registrar-info@wmich.edu