Professional photos of Moi Moi Lew, James Muchmore, and Regena Nelson.

Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies professors awarded grant to implement Michigan STARTALK Chinese teacher and student academies

Dr. Moi Mooi Lew, faculty specialist I, social-cultural studies in the Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies (TLES) department, Dr. James Muchmore, associate chair of the department and professor of socio-cultural studies, and Dr. Regena Nelson, chair of the department and professor of early childhood, have received a $112,458 STARTALK grant to implement Chinese teacher and student academies. 

Professional photo of Dr. Ming Li.

Dean elected to serve on CADREI board of directors

Dr. Ming Li, the Dean of the College of Education and Human Development at Western Michigan University, has been elected to serve on the Council of Academic Deans from Research Education Institutions (CADREI) Board of Directors.

More than a catchphrase

Read about Jeffrey Degner's inspiring journey and the hardships he encountered as he received his degrees from WMU. 

Three members of CEHD community shine in 2018 excellence in diversity awards

Western Michigan University’s Excellence in Diversity Awards Selection Committee is honoring three individuals and an organization associated with the College of Education and Human Development (CEHD): Dr. Donna Talbot, Marcy L. Peake, and Dawnielle Simmons and the Student Assembly for Racial Equity and Cultural Inclusion (SAREC). 

Photo of Dr. Stephanie Burns

Assistant professor has article published in national journal

Dr. Stephanie Burns, assistant professor in the Department of Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology along with Dr. Daniel Cruikshanks of Aquinas College published an article in the October 2017 issue of Counseling and Values. 

deb berkey

Berkey receives award from midwest SHAPE America

Dr. Deb Berkey, professor of physical education, is the recipient of SHAPE America’s 2018 Midwest Association for College and University Physical Education Scholar/Lecture Award.