June 2016 Events

Wednesday, June 1

Surplus saleActivity Therapy Building, on Oliver Street behind the Unified Clinics building, noon to 3 p.m.

Friday, June 3

Memorial serviceFor Paule Miller, retired associate professor emeritus of languages and linguistics, location to be announced on ryanfuneralservice.com, 5 to 7 p.m.

Sunday, June 5

Ramadan begins at sundown

Thursday, June 9

Retirement receptionFor Dr. Gary L. Blackmer, chemistry, 3880 Chemistry Building, 2 to 4 p.m.

Saturday, June 11

Shavuot begins at sundown

Tuesday, June 14

Chinese culture workshop"Chinese Knotting," 4048 Brown Hall, 6 to 7:30 p.m. Free; registration required.

Wednesday, June 15

Surplus saleActivity Therapy Building, on Oliver Street behind the Unified Clinics building, noon to 3 p.m.

Monday, June 20

Summer solstice (first day of summer)

Wednesday, June 22

WMU Night at Comerica ParkDetroit Tigers vs. Seattle Mariners, tickets include a limited edition WMU/Tigers baseball cap (first 1,500 ticket holders), a donation to the WMU Legacy Scholarship Fund, and entry into a raffle for prizes autographed by Tigers players, Comerica Park, Detroit, 7:08 p.m. Tickets at mywmu.com/tigers.

Saturday, June 25

CommencementMiller Auditorium, times to be announced in May.

Wednesday, June 29

Summer I session ends
Board of Trustees meetingHeritage Hall, time to be announced.
Surplus saleActivity Therapy Building, on Oliver Street behind the Unified Clinics building, noon to 3 p.m.

Thursday, June 30

Summer II session begins
Fourth annual Van Cooley Memorial Golf OutingGull Lake View golf course, Augusta, 9 a.m. Registration required.