Free campus workshops offered on virtual reality

contact: Deanne Puca
| WMU News
A student wears virtual reality goggles and holds up two controllers while watching a nearby computer screen.

Visit the virtual reality lab on the lower level of Waldo Library.

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Free workshops about virtual reality technology and how it can be used in teaching and learning begin Friday, March 16, and run through Wednesday, April 18, at Western Michigan University.

Open to the entire campus community and surrounding area, workshops will be held on the lower level of Waldo Library. No registration is needed.

Four different topics are offered three times each with limited seating. Daytime and nighttime offerings are available weekly through April on Fridays from noon to 1:30 p.m., and the following Mondays from 7:30 to 9 p.m. and Wednesdays from 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Workshop topics

Intro to VR

Get a first look at virtual reality and learn about the different types of content. 

  • Friday, March 16, noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, March 19, 7:30 to 9 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 21, 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Getting Started with VR in Unity

Learn how to start making virtual reality content using the Unity development environment.  

  • Friday, March 23, noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, March 26, 7:30 to 9 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 28, 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Creating 3D Objects for VR

Virtual reality isn't very engaging without objects to interact with. Learn the basics of creating three-dimensional models.

  • Friday, April 6, noon to 1:30 p.m.
  • Monday, April 9, 7:30 to 9 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 11, 12:30 to 2 p.m.

Creating Art in VR with Quill, Medium and Blocks

Creating art is an amazing experience in virtual reality using the many creative applications available. Software tutorials are also suggested.

  • Friday, April 13, noon to 1:30 pm
  • Monday, April 16, 7:30 to 9 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 18, 12:30 to 2 p.m.

For more information, visit wmich.edu/vr/learning.

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit wmich.edu/news.