Baseball announces 2018 schedule

contact: Nathan Palcowski
| WMU News

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Western Michigan University baseball will open its 2018 season at Houston Baptist University on Friday, Feb. 16.

The team's 2018 schedule includes 23 home games to be played at Robert J. Bobb Stadium at Hyames Field with key non-conference match-ups at home against in-state foes Oakland and Michigan State universities along with Big Ten Conference opponent Northwestern University.

The second weekend of the season, the Broncos will take part in the Campbell Camels Invitational in Buies Creek, North Carolina. The club will square off against Yale, Campbell and Mid-American Conference foe Miami in a non-conference tilt.

WMU will take its annual spring trip to Port Charlotte, Florida, to participate in the Snowbird Classic, March 2-11. At the Snowbird Classic, the Broncos will play St. Bonaventure, Georgetown, Villanova, George Mason, St. Joseph and Florida International. In addition, the Broncos will play the Detroit Tigers top prospect team for the seventh year in a row in Lakeland, Florida, at the newly renovated Joker Marchant Stadium.

"This is such a great privilege for our program and we are once again thrilled to have this amazing opportunity" said head coach Billy Gernon.

Returning from Florida, the Broncos will host their first home series against the Butler Bulldogs from the Big East Conference, March 16-18.

The home slate also includes MAC series against Toledo (March 23-25), Kent State (March 30-April 1), Bowling Green (April 13-15) and Central Michigan (April 20-22). The Broncos also host Big Ten opponents Michigan State (April 18) and Northwestern (May 2) while Oakland will make its first trip to Kalamazoo in four years on April 17.

WMU will play four mid-week games against Big Ten opponents this year including Michigan State twice, Michigan, and Northwestern. WMU will also play in South Bend, Indiana, against Atlantic Coast Conference opponent Notre Dame on May 1.

The Broncos play four conference series on the road starting with Northern Illinois (April 6-8) and Eastern Michigan (April 27-29). The team closes out the regular season with its last two conference series on the road at Ohio (May 11-13) and Ball State (May 17-19).

The MAC tournament is set for May 23 in Avon, Ohio, at Sprenger Stadium. The tournament format has changed as the top six teams make the tournament with the top two seeds earning a first-round bye. 

Home schedule

  • Friday, March 16, 3 p.m., vs. Butler University
  • Saturday, March 17, 1 p.m., vs. Butler University
  • Sunday, March 18, 1 p.m., vs. Butler University
  • Friday, March 23, 3 p.m., vs. University of Toledo
  • Saturday, March 24, 1 p.m., vs. University of Toledo
  • Sunday, March 25, 1 p.m., vs. University of Toledo
  • Friday, March 30, 3 p.m., vs. Kent State University
  • Saturday, March 31, 1 p.m., vs. Kent State University
  • Sunday, April 1, 1 p.m., vs. Kent State University
  • Wednesday, April 11, 3 p.m., vs. Goshen College (Indiana)
  • Friday, April 13, 3 p.m., vs. Bowling Green
  • Saturday, April 14, 1 p.m., vs. Bowling Green
  • Sunday, April 15, 1 p.m., vs. Bowling Green
  • Tuesday, April 17, 3 p.m., vs. Oakland University
  • Wednesday, April 18, 3 p.m., vs. Michigan State University
  • Friday, April 20, 3 p.m., vs. Central Michigan University
  • Saturday, April 21, 1 p.m., vs. Central Michigan University
  • Sunday, April 22, 1 p.m., vs. Central Michigan University
  • Wednesday, May 2, 3 p.m., vs. Northwestern University
  • Friday, May 4, 3 p.m., vs. Miami University (Ohio)
  • Saturday, May 5, 1 p.m., vs. Miami University (Ohio)
  • Sunday, May 6, 1 p.m., vs. Miami University (Ohio)
  • Tuesday, May 8, 2 p.m., vs. Valparaiso University

For more on Bronco baseball, including rosters, schedules, statistics, interviews and more, visit wmubroncos.com.

For more WMU news, arts and events, visit wmich.edu/news.