Trustees approve retirements of seven faculty, 13 staff members

contact: Jeanne Baron
| WMU News

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—The retirements of seven faculty members and 13 staff members were approved by the WMU Board of Trustees during its June 3 meeting.

Trustees also signed off on one faculty resignation and the stepping down of two departmental chairs, with one chair also granted a sabbatical leave.

Faculty retirements

All of the faculty members who are retiring are doing so with emeritus status. Their names, positions, years of continuous service and effective dates of retirement are:

  • Dr. Hans J. Dykxhoorn, professor of accountancy, 37 years, effective Aug. 14, 2016.
  • Dr. Lauren Freedman, professor of special education and literacy studies, 20 years, effective May 3, 2016.
  • Dr. Mark C. Kerstetter, associate professor of computer science, 38 years, effective Dec. 31, 2015.
  • Dr. Christopher M. Korth, professor of finance and commercial law, 22 years, effective July 31, 2016 (change in effective date only).
  • Dr. Michael S. Pritchard, professor of philosophy, 48 years, effective June 30, 2016 (change in effective date only).
  • Dr. Kathleen E. Sinning, professor of accountancy, 37 years, effective Aug. 14, 2016.
  • Dr. Quentin Smith, professor of philosophy, 22 years, effective May 1, 2015.

Staff retirements

  • Bonnie S. Adduci, second cook, Valley #1 Dining Service, 18 years, effective July 31, 2015.
  • Carol A. Carpenter, compliance manager, Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, 32 years, effective June 5, 2015.
  • Robert D. Champion, millwright/maintenance mechanic, Facilities Management-maintenance services, 29 years, effective July 31, 2015.
  • Mark Delorey, director, Office of Student Financial Aid and Scholarships, 10 years, effective July 6, 2015.
  • Lou Ann Grover, office coordinator, Department of Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies, 30 years, effective June 30, 2015.
  • Blaine D. Kalafut, deputy police chief, Department of Public Safety, 38 years, effective June 30, 2015.
  • Elizabeth W. Kuhle, head women's tennis coach, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics, 32 years, effective June 30, 2015.
  • Gail L. Kurtz, investment officer, Office of the Associate Vice President for Finance, 36 years, effective Feb. 29, 2016.
  • Helene Landon, office associate, Valley #1 Dining Service, 10 years, effective Aug. 23, 2015.
  • Charles K. Lantto, tradesperson, Facilities Management-landscape services, 34 years, effective July 31, 2015.
  • Gaylene Luhman, operations analyst, Office of Information Technology, 33 years, effective May 31, 2015.
  • Donald VanderRoest, carpenter, Facilities Management-maintenance services, 25 years, effective April 30, 2015.
  • Margaret J. Watson, classroom technology consultant, Office of Information Technology, 33 years, effective May 15, 2015.

Other personnel items

  • The faculty member resigning is Dr. Christopher A. Pearlassistant professor of biological sciences, effective Aug. 16, 2015.
  • The faculty members stepping down as administrators are Dr. Jonathan Bush, from chair of English, effective June 30, and Dr. Gene Freudenburg, from chair of mathematics, effective July 1, 2015.
  • In addition to Freudenburg rejoining the faculty, he was granted a sabbatical leave, effective for fall 2015.

For more news, arts and events, visit