Help select WMU's top four staffers for 2014

contact: Jeanne Baron
| WMU News
Photo of gold stars.

Additional information in support of a semi-annual Make a Difference Award recipient is due May 31.

KALAMAZOO—Twenty-five staff members are in the running for Western Michigan University's 2014 Make a Difference Annual Award, which carries a $1,200 before-tax prize and will be presented during this fall's Academic Convocation.

The prestigious honor is reserved for the most outstanding employees—those who reach far beyond their assigned responsibilities to give generously and creatively of their time and talents, making the University an even finer place to work and study.

The 25 candidates are recipients of 2013-14 fall and spring semiannual awards through the Make a Difference program. As such, they are eligible to be considered for one of the four annual awards bestowed by this peer-to-peer staff recognition program.

Members of the WMU community have through Saturday, May 31, to help decide who will be this year's "final four."

Annual award candidates

  • Bonnie Ayers, student financial aid and scholarships.
  • Joanne Beverage, English.
  • Don Beyer, intercollegiate athletics.
  • Deanna Bowling, facilities management-landscape services.
  • Mary Lou Brooks, Geography.
  • Bruce Carpenter, Chemistry.
  • Shona Drake, Haenicke Institute for Global Education.
  • Myla Edmond, College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Elena Gaudio, president's office.
  • Paul Hildenbrand, Haworth College of Business.
  • Tracey Kauppila, College of Aviation.
  • Steve Keto, Landscape Services.
  • Nancy Landsberger, civil and construction engineering.
  • Edward Maring, maintenance services.
  • Nicole Millar, student conduct.
  • Patrick Niemi, theatre.
  • James Oswalt, maintenance services.
  • Dorilee Schieble, history.
  • Gerald Schulz, maintenance services.
  • Tammi Smith, College of Arts and Sciences advising.
  • Debbie Uldriks, Haenicke Institute for Global Education.
  • Kevin Villadsen, maintenance services.
  • Mariann Vorva, Center for Academic Success Programs.
  • Paige Warner, First-Year Experience.
  • Carolyn Wiley, Valley I Dining Service.

Selection process

A selection committee composed of representatives from each of the award-eligible employee groups will select the annual award winners. The committee will review new information submitted for the candidates, as well as the candidates' previously submitted semiannual nomination materials, before deciding which four candidates will win Make a Difference Annual Awards.

Employees who wish to provide additional information in support of any candidate may do so through Saturday, May 31. Any additional information should include specific examples of how the candidate has demonstrated dedication to outstanding service. There is no need to resubmit the semiannual nomination materials.

How to submit additional information in support of a candidate