New Issues Poetry & Prose - WMU
TitlesSubmission GuidelinesOrderingDonateAbout Us

Green Rose Prize

2016: Nadine Meyer
Chrysanthemum, Chrysanthemum

2015: Bruce Cohen
Imminent Disappearances, Impossible Numbers &
Panoramic X-Rays

2014: Kathleen Halme
My Multiverse

2013: Ralph Angel
Your Moon

2012: Jaswinder Bolina
Phantom Camera

2011: Corey Marks
The Radio Tree

2010: Seth Abramson

2009: Malinda Markam
Having Cut the Sparrow’s Heart

2008: Patty Seyburn

2007: Jon Pineda
The Translator’s Diary

2006: Noah Eli Gordon
A Fiddle Pulled from the Throat of a Sparrow

2005: Joan Houlihan
The Mending Worm

2004: Hugh Seidman
Somebody Stand Up and Sing

2003: Christine Hume Alaskaphrenia
Gretchen Mattox
Buddha Box

2002: Christopher Bursk
Ovid at Fifteen

2001: Ruth Ellen Kocher
When the Moon Knows You’re Wandering

2000: Martha Rhodes
Perfect Disappearance

New Issues Poetry Prize

2016: Courtney Kampa
Our Lady of Not Asking Why
(Judge: Mary Szybist)

2015: Sawnie Morris
Her, Infinite
(Judge: Major Jackson)

2014: Abdul Ali
Trouble Sleeping
(Judge: Fanny Howe)

2013: Kerrin McCadden
Landscape with Plywood Silhouettes
(Judge: David St. John)

2012: Marni Ludwig
(Judge: Jean Valentine)

2011: Andrew Allport
the body | of space | in the shape of the human
(Judge: David Wojahn)

2010: Jeff Hoffman
Journal of American Foreign Policy
(Judge: Linda Gregerson)

2009: Judy Halebsky

(Judge: Marvin Bell)

2008: Justin Marks
A Million in Prizes
(Judge: Carl Phillips)

2007: Sandra Beasley
Theories of Falling
(Judge: Marie Howe)

2006: Jason Bredle
Standing in Line for the Beast
(Judge: Barbara Hamby)

2005: Katie Peterson
This One Tree
(Judge: William Olsen)

2004: Kevin Boyle
A Home for Wayward Girls
(Judge: Rodney Jones)

2003: Cynie Cory; Barbara Maloutas; Louise Mathias; Bradley Paul; Heidi Lynn Staples; Ever Saskya; Matthew Thorburn
(Judge: Brenda Hillman)

2002: Paul Guest
The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World
(Judge: Campbell McGrath)

2001: Sarah Mangold
Household Mechanics
(Judge: C.D. Wright

2000: Elizabeth Powell
Republic of Self

(Judge: C.K. Williams)

1999: Joy Manesiotis
They Sing to Her Bones
(Judge: Marianne Boruch)

1998: Malena Mörling
Ocean Avenue
(Judge: Philip Levine)

1997: Marsha de la O
Black Hope
(Judge: Chase Twichell)


Poetry Prizes

New Issues Poetry & Prose offers two contests annually. The Green Rose Prize is awarded to an author who has previously published at least one full-length book of poems. The New Issues Poetry Prize, an award for a first book of poems, is chosen by a guest judge. Past judges have included Philip Levine, C.K. Williams, C.D. Wright, and Campbell McGrath.

The press accepts hard copy submissions sent to: New Issues Poetry & Prose, 1903 W. Michigan Ave., Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5463, or electronic submissions through Submittable.

New Issues does not read manuscripts outside of our contests. Graduate students in the Ph.D. and M.F.A. programs of Western Michigan University often volunteer their time reading manuscripts. Finalists are chosen by the editors. New Issues often publishes up to two additional manuscripts selected from the finalists.

Please visit the AWP website for guidelines to submit to the AWP Award Series in the Novel contest.

*Download Guidelines

Submission Guidelines

The 2017 Green Rose Prize

$2,000 and publication for a book of poems by an established poet


  • Eligibility: Poets writing in English who have already published one or more full-length collections of poetry. We will consider individual collections and volumes of new and selected poems. Besides the winner, New Issues may publish as many as three additional manuscripts from this competition.
  • Please include a $25 reading fee. Checks should be made payable to New Issues Press.
  • Postmark Deadline: September 30, 2016. The winning manuscript will be named in January 2017 and published in the spring of 2018.


The 2017 New Issues Poetry Prize

$2,000 and publication for a first book of poems
Judge: David Rivard


  • Eligibility: Poets writing in English who have not previously published or self-published a full-length collection (40+ pages) of poems.
  • Please include a $20 reading fee. Checks should be made payable to New Issues Press.
  • Postmark Deadline: November 30, 2016. The winning manuscript will be named in May 2017 and published in the spring of 2018.

General Guidelines:

  • Submit a manuscript at least 40 pages in length, typed on one side, single-spaced preferred. Photocopies are acceptable. Please do not bind manuscript. Include a brief bio, relevant publication information, cover page with name, address, phone number, and title of the manuscript, and a page with only the title.
  • Enclose a stamped, self-addressed postcard for notification that the manuscript has been received. For notification of title and author of the winning manuscript enclose a stamped, self-addressed envelope. Manuscripts will be recycled.
  • A manuscript may be submitted that is being considered elsewhere but New Issues should be notified upon the manuscript’s acceptance elsewhere.

Send manuscripts and queries to:

The New Issues Poetry Prize
(or) The Green Rose Prize
New Issues Poetry & Prose
Western Michigan University
1903 West Michigan Ave.
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5463