Winter 2001 Events

The activites below took place during the Winter 2001 semester as part of a joint program between the Math Club @ WMU and the mathematics honors society Pi Mu Epsilon. Unless otherwise stated, events were held in the Alavi Commons Room on the 6th floor of Everett Tower.

Thursday, January 11, 4pm
Pi Mu Epsilon Pizza Party

Tuesday, January 16 - Thursday, January 18
in 3375 Rood Hall
Pi Mu Epsilon Book Sale
from 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Friday, January 26, 4pm
"Mathematical Modeling in Industry:
Notes From a Student Workshop"
Danny Dunlavy, Western Michigan University

Friday, February 2, 4pm
Feedback Forum
with Dr. Jay Wood, Chair
for students only

Friday, February 9, 4pm
"A Peek at Peak Numbers"
Dr. Tabitha Mingus, Western Michigan University

Friday, February 16, 4pm
"Domination... in all its graphic detail"
Daryl Findley, John McKenzie, and
Benjamin Phillips, Western Michigan University

Friday, March 9, 3:30pm
"Demonic Graphs and Undergraduate Research"
Aparna Higgins, University of Dayton

Friday, March 22, 4pm
"Decomposing Graphs"
Heather Gavlas, Grand Valley State University
The talk was preceded by the Annual Business Meeting at 3:30 pm.

Friday, March 30, 4pm
"Inverse Problems in Science and Mathematics"
Charles Groetsch, University of Cincinnati

Friday, April 12, 7pm
Popcorn and a Movie: "2001: Space Odyssey"
With the Physics Club.

Chapter History

Our chapter was established in 1988. Before a chapter can be established at an institution, the PME National Council requires clear evidence of an ongoing history of student mathematical activity outside the classroom, and adequate support for these activities.

We were the fifth chapter to be established in Michigan, and hence were assigned the fifth letter of Greek alphabet: epsilon. Thus, our official name is:

The Michigan Epsilon Chapter
of Pi Mu Epsilon

Do You Know More?

Some information about previous semesters is incomplete. We ask anyone with photos, documents, or details about missing events to inform us using our Contact Information.