Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Directory

 

Faculty

The key to any program is its faculty and staff. Western Michigan University's Department of Industrial and Entrepreneurial &Engineering Management has 16 full-time faculty members and several part-time faculty and adjunct professors. These faculty members are committed to providing the finest undergraduate programs, and the teaching and student support that defines these programs, in the Midwest.

They are also actively engaged in research that keeps them current with developments in their fields. Most faculty members have industrial work experience and appreciate both the applied and theoretical aspects of education.

Many of our faculty also teach at the Grand Rapids Graduate Center-Beltline facility

 

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_butt.jpg

Steven Butt, Professor and Department Chair
Office: E-227 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3356
E-mail:  steven.butt@wmich.edu
Specializations: Operations Research, Routing & Scheduling, Engineering Statistics
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_bafna.jpg

Kailash Bafna, Professor
Office: E-212 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3355
E-mailkailash.bafna@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Engineering Cost Analysis, Facilities Design, Quality Control, Material Handling
Web Page

arava

Laila Cure, Assistant Professor
Office: E-208 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3371
E-maillaila.cure@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Healthcare Engineering, Healthcare Risk Management, Patient Safety
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/large_pics/jerry.jpg

Jerry Fiala, Faculty Specialist
Office: F-225 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3359
E-mailjerrie.fiala@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Technical Communication, Team / Small-Group Communication, Science News Writing and Journalism, Editing, and Photography
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_tyco.jpg

Tycho Fredericks, Professor
Office: E-223 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3360
E-mailtycho.fredericks@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Industrial Ergonomics, Work Measurement and Design, Product Design and Development
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_gupta.jpg

Tarun Gupta, Professor
Office: E-220 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3361
E-mailtarun.gupta@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Robotics, Computer Integrated Manufacturing, Computer Simulation
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_houshyar.jpg

Azim Houshyar, Professor
Office: E-219 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3363
E-mailazim.houshyar@wmich.edu 
Specializations:Facilities Design, Operations Research, Reliability Engineering, Simulation Methodology
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_lyth.jpg

David Lyth, Professor
Office: E-222 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3368
E-maildavid.lyth@wmich.edu
Specializations: Quality Management, Healthcare Engineering, Production/Operations Management, Service Management
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_mallak.jpg

Larry Mallak, Professor
Office: E-228 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3369
E-maillarry.mallak@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Healthcare Systems Engineering, Engineering Management, Organizational Culture Assessment and Change
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_meade.jpg

David Meade, Associate Professor
Office: 221 S. Quarterline Rd., Muskegon, MI, 49442
Phone: 231-777-0593
E-maildavid.meade@wmich.edu
Specializations: Manufacturing Operations Management, Lean Manufacturing, Facility Planning
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_patten.jpg

John Patten, Professor
Office: C-245 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3246
E-mailjohn.patten@wmich.edu
Specializations: Manufacturing, Precision Engineering, Machining Simulations, Metrology, Materials (semiconductors and ceramics)
Web Page

arava

Troy Place, Faculty Specialist II
Office: F-220 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3366
E-mailtroy.place@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Technical Communications, Report Preparation
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_prieto.jpg

Diana Prieto, Assistant Professor
Office: F-213 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3342
E-maildiana.prieto@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Disease Modeling and Surveillance, Agent-Based Simulation, Applied Statistical Analysis
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_swartz.jpg

Thomas Swartz, Master Faculty Specialist
Office: F-224 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3376
E-mailthomas.swartz@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Technical Communication, Report Writing
Web Page

http://www.wmich.edu/ime/images/faculty/small_pics/s_white.jpg

Bob White, Professor
Office: E-216 Parkview Campus
Phone: 269-276-3379
E-mailbob.white@wmich.edu 
Specializations: Engineering Economy/Cost Analysis, Production and Operations Management
Web Page