Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Ph.D. Students

 

John Bollweg
Dissertation title: "The Genesis of an Eschatologist: The Early Religious Writings of Arnau de Vilanova (ca. 1240 - 1311)"
Advisor: Larry Simon
trecento.bollweg@wmich.edu

brez

Skylar Bre’z
Area of Focus: Recent US, Gender
Advisor: Edwin Martini
skylar.j.brez@wmich.edu

John Byczynski

John Byczynski
Area of Focus: Working class history
Advisor: Eli Rubin
john.a.byczynski@wmich.edu

dial Caitlyn Perry Dial
Dissertation title: “The Wrecks of the Eastland and Edmund Fitzgerald: Great Lakes Shipwrecks in American Public Memory”
Advisor: Mitch Kachun
caityln.a.perry@wmich.edu
ditucci

David DiTucci
Dissertation title: “'Deadly Hostility of Men': Feud and Violence in Anglo-Saxon England”
Advisor: Robert Berkhofer
david.ditucci@wmich.edu

dobek Peter P. Dobek
Area of Focus: Medieval and Early Modern Europe, Poland, East Central Europe
Advisor: James Palmitessa
peter.p.dobek@wmich.edu
Goodman

Jack K. Goodman Jr.
Dissertation title: "Slavery and Wage Labor in 14th-Century Palermo, Sicily"
Advisor: Larry Simon
jack.k.goodman@wmich.edu

Valerie Hampton

Valerie D. Hampton
Dissertation title:“Power Relations at the Cistercian Abbey of St. Mary at Rushen”
Advisor: E. Rozanne Elder
valerie.d.hampton@wmich.edu

Patrick Harris

Patrick W. Harris
Dissertation title: "The Latinization of the Mozarabic Community of Toledo, 1085-1300.
Advisor: Larry Simon
patrick.w.harris@wmich.edu

herhold Claire E. Herhold
Area of focus: Public History
Advisor: David Benac
claire.e.herhold@wmich.edu
Janes

Randall A. Janes
Advisor: Lewis Pyenson
Dissertation Title: “Between the Ingenio and the Ingeniero:  The Spanish Sugar Master and the Development of the Ibero-American Sugar Industry”
randall.a.janes@wmich.edu

Kim

Yoon-Rim Kim
Area of focus: medieval China; international relations, gender
Advisor: Victor Xiong
yoon-rim.kim@wmich.edu

koenig

Joshua Koenig
Dissertation title: “Representations: Public Depictions of the Trans-Mississippi American West”
Advisor:  Lynne Heasley
joshua.koenig@wmich.edu

Kohrman

David Kohrman
Dissertation title:  “Modern Ruins, memory, and preservation”
Advisor: Mitch Kachun
david.kohrman@wmich.edu

mackie

Thomas D. Mackie
Dissertation title: "A Shrine for President Lincoln: An Analysis of 100 years of Lincoln Interpretation in Public History, 1909-2009"
Advisor: Mitch Kachun
thomas.d.mackie@wmich.edu

mccandless

Jamie A. McCandless
Dissertation title: “'A Difficult and Dangerous Thing': Religious Reform in Late Medieval Germany"
Advisor: Robert Berkhofer
jamie.a.mccandless@wmich.edu

Moore

Stacey L. Moore
Dissertation title: "Contested Terrain: Change and Adaptations among Illinois and Miami Women in the Pays d'en Haut, 1660-1760."
Advisor: J.A. Brandao
stacey.l.moore@wmich.edu

penix Matthew D. Penix
Area of focus: Modern European History
Advisor: Eli Rubin
matthew.d.penix@wmich.edu
stevens Chelsea L. Stevens
Area of focus: modern Europe; memory
Advisor: Eli Rubin
chelsea.l62.stevens@wmich.edu
Terry

David D. Terry
Dissertation title: "Pirates and Piracy in the Medieval Crown of Aragon, 1291-1336"
Advisor: Larry Simon
david.d.terry@wmich.edu

Wolfe

Adam Wolfe
Area of focus: Medieval Europe, Viking/Anglo-Saxon Studies
Advisor: E. Rozanne Elder
adam.wolfe@wmich.edu

 

 

Department of History
4301 Friedmann Hall
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5334 USA
(269) 387-4650 | (269) 387-4651 Fax
dorilee.schieble@wmich.edu