PEEPs for PD: Identifying Project Evaluation Effectiveness Principles for Professional Development in Elementary Science Teaching

Sponsor: National Science Foundation
NSF PRIME Award #1228809
Grant Period: September 25, 2012 – August 31, 2014

This exploratory project is designed to identify and describe evaluations of Professional Development in Science Teaching (PDST) interventions with the ultimate goal of improving the quality of science instruction in elementary school classrooms. The project will 1) identify and describe evaluations of PDST interventions and 2) develop mechanisms and examples for systematically reviewing, meta-evaluating, and aggregating results of these evaluations. The focus will be on establishing a credible base of appropriate professional development STEM evaluation reviews, developing meta-evaluation techniques, and identifying the most appropriate strategies for determine the cumulative effectiveness of PDST programs. In order to increase the capacity of professional evaluators in STEM education to conduct rigorous and useful evaluations, the project will disseminate project findings to education researchers and evaluators, sponsors, and developers of PDST interventions through research presentations, papers, and reports to the extent feasible. Dissemination products will communicate:

  1. Methods for identifying and retrieving PDST evaluations, as well as their limitations
  2. Characteristics of accessible PDST evaluations
  3. Research designs and methodologies used in PDST evaluations
  4. Suitable methods for assessing the performance of available evaluation documents against evaluation standards and frameworks
  5. Suitable methods for assessing the performance and impacts of PDST intervention


WMU Project Team:
Daniela Schroeter (Principal Investigator)
Lori Wingate (Co-Principal Investigator)
Chris Coryn (Co-Principal Investigator)
Stephanie Means (Project Manager)
Robert McCowen (IDPE Doctoral Associate)
Project Partner:
University of California, Berkley
The Lawrence Hall of Science Research Group
Juna Snow (Principal Investigator)
Ardice Hartry (Co-Principal Investigator)
Rena Dorph (Co-Principal Investigator)
Valeria Romero (Research Associate)
Advisory Board Members:
Christina Christie, University of California, Los Angeles
Leslie Cooksy, Sierra Health Foundation
Leslie Goodyear, Education Development Center, Inc.
Jennifer Greene, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Thomas Guskey, University of Kentucky
Kathy DiRanna, WestEd
Michael Scriven, Claremont Graduate University
Joellen Killion, Learning Forward
Daniel Stufflebeam, Western Michigan University
Don Yarbrough, University of Iowa
External Evaluator:
Michael Quinn Patton, Independent Evaluation Consultant

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.