Skip To Nav

Site-specific menu

Teacher and Administrator Certification

Teacher/Administrator Certification

Levels and Types of Certification

Validity Levels of Michigan Certificates

The two basic levels of Michigan teaching certificates arinterne:

Elementary certificates issued after Sept. 1, 1988 have the following validity: Kindergarten through fifth grade all subjects, Kindergarten through eighth grades all subjects in a self-contained classroom; and sixth to and including eighth grades in the teachable major(s) and/or minor(s).

Prior to September 1, 1988 the certificates issued were valid kindergarten through eighth grades all subjects; and ninth grade in the teachable major(s) and minor(s).

Secondary certificates issued after Sept. 1, 1988 have the following validity: Seventh through twelfth grades in teachable major(s) and minor(s).

Prior to Sept. 1, 1988 certificates were valid for seventh and eighth grades all subjects and in grades seven to and including twelve in the teachable major(s) and/or minor(s).

Types of Michigan Certificates

There are four basic types of Michigan regular and vocational certificates currently available: the required initial certificate, called the Provisional; the Professional Certificate, which may eventually be obtained when the holder of a Provisional certificate meets requirements as outlined in the "Professional Certificate Requirements" section; the Interim Occupational Certificate; and the Occupational Education Certificate. The Professional Certificate replaced the Continuing Certificate and the Occupational Education Certificate replaced the Full Vocational Certificate on July 1, 1992.