Advisory Councils

The Haworth College of Business at Western Michigan University is among an elite group of fewer than 5 percent of business schools that are accredited at both the undergraduate and graduate levels by the AACSB International—Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The innovative and responsive curriculum in the college draws upon industry expertise and needs, which means our graduates are prepared to be the critical thinkers, effective problem solvers, and thought leaders that today's businesses are seeking.

Haworth College of Business

Advisory council members

  • Sandi Lucie Doctor, MBA'83, vice president, Northwood Group; advisory council chair
  • Mike Gerfen, B.B.A.'87, executive director, VML
  • Ann M. Harten, vice president, Global Human Resources, Haworth
  • Dave Hoogendoorn, B.B.A.'88, market segment leader, Michigan and Northwest Ohio, and office managing partner, Grand Rapids, Ernst & Young; advisory council vice-chair
  • Mark A. Jackson, B.B.A.'81, global director, Process Systems Organization, General Motors
  • Michael W. Lewis , B.B.A.'71, executive vice president (retired), BMO Harris Bank
  • Tony McKinney, B.B.A.'92, vice president and assistant treasurer, Stryker
  • Kenneth Miller, B.B.A.'69, MBA'70, president and CEO, Millennium Restaurant Group LLC
  • Phil Straniero, executive-in-residence, Western Michigan University
  • Shawn Toldo, B.B.A.'98, director, National Partner Sales, Microsoft

Advisory council emeriti

Active past members of the advisory council, our emeriti continue to promote the college mission and serve as ambassadors for the college.

  • James Barnum, B.B.A.'84, senior vice president, Old National Bank
  • John Boll, B.B.A.'77
  • Robert DeGroot, B.B.A.'88
  • Joseph Hemker, B.B.A.'76, attorney, Howard & Howard Attys P.C.
  • Jim Koessel, B.S.'72, senior vice president and director of premier banking, Lake Michigan Credit Union
  • Matthew Mace, B.B.A.'98
  • Stephen Parker, B.B.A.'67, MBA'07
  • The Honorable Julie Phillips, B.B.A.'84
  • Angela Davis Robinson, B.S.'74
  • Jeff Ross, principal and founder, Jeff K. Ross Financial Services
  • José Santamaria B.B.A. and B.A.'88, MBA'91
  • Charles Zhang, M.A.'91

Departmental advisory boards

  • Accountancy Advisory Council
  • Advertising Industry Advisory Board
  • Business Information Systems Advisory Council
  • Finance and Commercial Law Advisory Board
  • Food Marketing Advisory Board