• Photo of Karen Lancendorfer and Greg Rosine

    Karen Lancendorfer and Greg Rosine

  • Photo of José Vasquez-Javier.

    José Vasquez-Javier

  • Photo of Elena Gaudio.

    Elena Gaudio

  • Photo of Gary Barton.

    Gary Barton

  • Photo of Chris Harris.

    Chris Harris

The WMU Brand Ambassador Program is a three-part series of employee workshops created to strengthen our internal brand building efforts and to provide employees with the knowledge and tools to communicate and build the WMU brand. Workshops are open to any faculty or staff member. Upon completion of this program, which is recognized by the University's human resources office as a professional development opportunity, all new Brand Ambassadors receive a framed certificate.

Register now!

The workshops are three hours each and focus on the following topics:

  1. Understanding the WMU Identity
    • Explores the history and foundation of WMU
    • Explains the WMU brand promise and how it relates to the University strategic plan
    • Highlights the elements of the brand promise—WMU students, quality programs, people and alumni
    • Exercise new knowledge in role-playing activities
  2. Understanding WMU Audiences and Ways to Communicate With Them
    • Identifies WMU's multiple audiences and how they relate to the University
    • Addresses communication expectations from WMU's various offices
    • Teaches message formulation informed by WMU values
    • Provides insight on what communication is appropriate in particular situations
  3. WMU Communication Guidelines and Standards
    • Defines the WMU brand and stresses its importance
    • Clarifies WMU guidelines for seals, logos, colors and design
    • Reviews WMU web and writing standards
    • Reviews best practices for social media and e-marketing
    • Highlights communication resources available on campus

2017 SCHEDULE

Workshop 1

  • Friday, June 2
  • Friday, Aug. 4
  • Friday, Oct. 6

Workshop 2

  • Friday, Feb. 10
  • Friday, June 9
  • Friday, Aug. 11
  • Friday, Oct. 13

Workshop 3

  • Friday, Feb. 17
  • Friday, June 16
  • Friday, Aug. 18
  • Friday, Oct. 20

All-day workshops

Earn your Behind the W certificate in one day—includes all three workshops.

  • Friday, Jan. 27
  • Friday, April 21
  • Friday, Dec. 8