The WMU Brand Ambassador Program is a three-part series of employee workshops created to strengthen our internal brand building efforts and to provide employees with the knowledge and tools to communicate and build the WMU brand. Workshops are open to any faculty or staff member. Upon completion of this program, which is recognized by the University's human resources office as a professional development opportunity, all new Brand Ambassadors receive a framed certificate.

The next opportunity to participate is Friday, June 8, 2018--an all-day workshop—earn your certificate in one day.

Register now

The workshops are three hours each and focus on the following topics:

  1. Understanding the WMU Identity
    • Explores the history and foundation of WMU
    • Explains the WMU brand promise and how it relates to the University strategic plan
    • Highlights the elements of the brand promise—WMU students, quality programs, people and alumni
    • Exercise new knowledge in role-playing activities
  2. Understanding WMU Audiences and Ways to Communicate With Them
    • Identifies WMU's multiple audiences and how they relate to the University
    • Addresses communication expectations from WMU's various offices
    • Teaches message formulation informed by WMU values
    • Provides insight on what communication is appropriate in particular situations
  3. WMU Communication Guidelines and Standards
    • Defines the WMU brand and stresses its importance
    • Clarifies WMU guidelines for seals, logos, colors and design
    • Reviews WMU web and writing standards
    • Reviews best practices for social media and e-marketing
    • Highlights communication resources available on campus

2018 SCHEDULE

Workshop 1

All workshops begin at 8:30 a.m. and conclude at 11:30 a.m.

  • Friday, Feb. 2—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, April 6—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, July 13—Room 1310 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, Sept. 7—Room 3310 Sangren Hall

Workshop 2

All workshops begin at 8:30 a.m. and conclude at 11:30 a.m.

  • Friday, Feb. 9—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, April 13—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, July 20—Room 1310 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, Sept. 14—Room 3310 Sangren Hall

Workshop 3

All workshops begin at 8:30 a.m. and conclude at 11:30 a.m.

  • Friday, Feb. 16—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, April 20—Room 1720 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, July 27—Room 1310 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, Sept. 2—Room 3310 Sangren Hall

All-day workshops

Earn your Behind the W certificate in one day—includes all three workshops. Full-day workshops begin at 8:30 a.m. and conclude at 5 p.m.

  • Friday, June 8—Room 1310 Sangren Hall
  • Friday, Nov. 9—Room 4540 Sangren Hall