Global Engagement Leads WMU Faculty, Staff and Students to Spain

WMU students, faculty and staff in Bilbao, Spain

Group in SpainWMU's comprehensive commitment to global engagement is evident in its creation of a study abroad program for faculty and staff. In collaboration with the Department of Spanish and the International Education Council of the Faculty Senate, the Haenicke Institute established an international professional development workshop in Spain. Travel grants were awarded to 12 faculty and staff members from various departments and units so they could receive 30 hours of instruction on Spanish language and culture at the University of Cantabria, located in the beautiful coastal city of Santander. In addition to the classroom instruction, participants were treated to cultural excursions designed to provide exposure to the deep historical journey that has helped Spain evolve into the diverse and rich country that exists today.

Group by the sea

WMU faculty and staff members attended classes from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. during the week and traveled throughout Santander for cultural lessons during the evenings. Cultural excursions included trips to Parliament, the Cabo Mayor Lighthouse, the Prehistory and Archaeology Museum of Cantabria, the Palacio de Magdelena, and the Cathedral of Santander. Additionally, WMU undergraduate students were also attending the University of Cantabria. Spanish majors who selected Santander as their study abroad destination joined faculty and staff on day trips to explore other cities and prominent sites in Spain. The combined WMU group traveled to Potes-Picos de Europa, Santillana del Mar, the Guggenheim Museum (pictured above) and the Burgos Cathedral.

Group in front of mountainsTravel grants were awarded to Patricia Burgwald, University Libraries; Lauren Carney, College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean; Joetta Carr, Gender and Women's Studies; Myla Edmond, College of Arts and Sciences Office of the Dean; Charlotte Giscombe, Center for Academic Success Programs; Nancy Hock, Occupational Therapy; Peggy Miller, Human Resources; Joan Morin, University Libraries; Bruce Naftel, Gwen Frostic School of Art; Cris Obreiter, Department of Military Science and Leadership; and Linda Reeser, School of Social Work.