Women's Caucus Awards

Gender Scholar Award

The College of Arts and Sciences Women's Caucus announces the annual Gender Scholar Award.


  • College of Arts and Sciences faculty (both emerging scholars and established faculty are encouraged to apply)
  • Demonstration of excellence in gender-related research and scholarly activities

Entries are judged based on the overall quality of the work and contributions advancing knowledge in an area of research that has a gender focus.

Award selection

The prize is $1000 and the winner will be asked to present her or his work during the spring 2016 semester to the WMU community.


Nov. 30, 5 p.m.



Award recipients

  • 2017—Dr. Anise Strong, Department of History
  • 2016—Dr. Tabassum Ruby, Department of Gender and Women's Studies
  • 2015—Dr. Jennifer Machiorlatti, School of Communication
  • 2014—Dr. Jean Kimmel, Department of Economics
  • 2013—Dr. Ann Miles, Department of Sociology
  • 2012—Dr. Jocelyn Steinke, School of Communication
  • 2011—Dr. Daneen Wardrop, Department of English
  • 2010—Dr. Chien-Juh Gu, Department of Sociology