2014 Faculty and Staff Award Winners


2013-14 CAS faculty and staff award winners

The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013-14 Faculty Achievement Awards, Staff Excellence Awards, the Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award and the Gender Scholar Award. This year we recognized 13 individuals for their exemplary contributions to the College of Arts and Sciences. Each honoree received his/her award on Thursday, March 20, in the University Center for the Humanities (2500 Knauss Hall), at 3:30 p.m. To view photos from the event visit the 2013-14 Faculty Achievement and Staff Excellence Awards album.

Faculty Achievement Awards

The faculty achievement awards align with Strategic Priority D of the College of Arts and Sciences Strategic Plan to recognize outstanding faculty contributions to the mission of the College.

Here are this year’s Faculty Achievement Award recipients:

Professional and Community Service:
Dr. Philip Egan, Department of English

Research and Creative Activity:
Dr. William C. Olsen, Department of English
Dr. Benjamin Torres Caballero, Department of Spanish

Dr. Jennifer Machiorlatti, School of Communication
Dr. Michael Ryan, Department of Economics

Global Engagement:
Dr. Jeffrey M. Angles, Department of World Languages and Literatures
Dr. James Butterfield, Department of Political Science

Staff Excellence Awards

CAS staff play a critical role in the success of our departments, institutes, school and the college. We are very fortunate to have an incredible group of dedicated staff in the College of Arts and Sciences. This award recognizes the great work and contribution of great staff members over the past year. This year’s Staff Excellence Award recipients are:

Ms. Jacquelyn Bizzell, CAS Undergraduate Advising
Ms. Dorilee Schieble, Department of History
Ms. Heather White, Mallinson Institute for Science Education

Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award 

This award is made to CAS faculty who demonstrate an exemplary commitment to diversity and inclusion as expressed through research and creative activity; teaching, mentoring, or curriculum transformation; professional service; and/or a combination of achievements in these areas. This year's Diversity and Inclusion Recognition Award recipients are:

Dr. Sisay Asefa, Department of Economics
Dr. David Huffman, Department of Chemistry

Gender Scholar Award

The CAS Women's Caucus strives to promote an academic culture of inclusiveness for all people at Western Michigan University in research, teaching, service and administrative work. The Gender Scholar Award is awarded to a CAS faculty member who demonstrates excellence in gender-related research and scholarly activities. Applicants are judged based on the overall quality of the work and contributions advancing knowledge in an area of research that has a gender focus. This year's Gender Scholar Award recipient is:

Dr. Jean Kimmel, Department of Economics