Academic Collective Bargaining

Academic Collective Bargaining

About Dr. Jay A. Wood

Dr. Jay A. Wood

Director of Academic Collective Bargaining
and Contract Administration

           Personal Homepage

Jay A. Wood became Associate Vice President and Director of Academic Collective Bargaining in January 2004. He succeeded Chester B. Rogers, who had retired from Western Michigan University after over thirty years of service.

Wood first came to WMU in 2000 as chair of what was then the Department of Mathematics and Statistics. One of his first duties was to oversee the splitting of the department into the Department of Statistics and the Department of Mathematics. After the split, he continued as chair in Mathematics until his current appointment. Wood remains a tenured professor of mathematics.

Prior to joining WMU, Wood was a faculty member in the Department of Mathematics at Purdue University Calumet. Earlier in his career, Wood held positions at Lehigh University, Bowdoin College, the University of Notre Dame, and the University of Chicago.

Wood has been an active researcher and teacher for over 20 years. Trained originally in differential geometry, Wood's research interests have shifted to algebraic topology and algebraic coding theory. In the latter, Wood has made contributions to the theory of linear codes defined over finite rings. Some of Wood's research was supported by grants from the National Security Agency.

Born in Wausau, Wisconsin, Wood received his bachelor's degree in mathematics from the University of Notre Dame in 1976. He was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa the same year. He received his master's degree in 1978 and his doctorate in 1982, both in mathematics, from the University of California, Berkeley. In 1981, he won the first Nikki Kose Memorial Teaching Prize for mathematics teaching assistants at Berkeley.

Wood is a member of the American Mathematical Society, the Mathematical Association of America, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He serves as a member of the Committee on Academic Freedom, Tenure, and Employment Security of the American Mathematical Society.


Academic Collective Bargaining
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5204 USA
(269) 387-4307 | Fax